Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Miller 302 - 120/240 work -- NO weld power

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Western Washington
    Posts
    8,728
    Post Thanks / Like

    Miller 302 - 120/240 work -- NO weld power

    Wondering if it's worth fixing or is this going to be a board swap $$$
    Don't have the machine here yet but will in a week or so.
    All I know so far is it has power on the genset side but none for the welder side???

    Name:  miller302-02.jpg
Views: 85
Size:  94.1 KB

  2. Likes 12V71 liked this post
  3. #2
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Central Wa. state
    Posts
    3,825
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller 302 - 120/240 work -- NO weld power

    Quote Originally Posted by ronsii View Post
    Wondering if it's worth fixing or is this going to be a board swap $$$
    Don't have the machine here yet but will in a week or so.
    All I know so far is it has power on the genset side but none for the welder side???

    Name:  miller302-02.jpg
Views: 85
Size:  94.1 KB
    Never had one of mine do that. I can check the schematic I have tomorrow. But it does sound like a problem with the weld generator. Remember, they have separate generators for weld and power.

  4. Likes ronsii liked this post
  5. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Western Washington
    Posts
    8,728
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller 302 - 120/240 work -- NO weld power

    Quote Originally Posted by 12V71 View Post
    Never had one of mine do that. I can check the schematic I have tomorrow. But it does sound like a problem with the weld generator. Remember, they have separate generators for weld and power.
    Yes, I believe it's very similar to my 325 just lower ratings??? I should have it here sometime next week to work on. Also have a 250 coming in and a 225nt that just shuts down when you try to strike... at least that's what I been told

    Now I have to find time to troubleshoot these.... I *might* have to stay away from the pol thread more

  6. Likes 12V71 liked this post
  7. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Orange, TX
    Posts
    17,403
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller 302 - 120/240 work -- NO weld power

    IF it turns out to be a board problem, the main control board is a triple layered type with circuit traces sandwiched in between the layers. This makes this board "non-repairable" by most repair shops. I have had one repaired by a local former satellite technician years ago and it did take him two tries to nail it.
    MM200 w/Spoolmatic 1
    Syncrowave 180SD
    Bobcat 225G Plus - LP/NG
    MUTT Suitcase Wirefeeder
    WC-1S/Spoolmatic 1
    HF-251D-1
    PakMaster 100XL
    '68 Red Face Code #6633 project
    Star Jet 21-110

    Save Second Base!

  8. Likes 12V71, ronsii liked this post
  9. #5
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Central Wa. state
    Posts
    3,825
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller 302 - 120/240 work -- NO weld power

    IIRC, the 302 weld output is direct to the studs, It may have an excitation issue, board etc. Also I remember a 5 amp fuse just behind the engine on the left side looking from the control end that powers up the board and excitation.

    The 325 is a whole different animal, if I'm thinking right it has a single generator with dual output windings in the stator. and then goes through a board for the weld at idle feature.

    Duane got there while I was hunting and pecking.

  10. Likes ronsii liked this post
  11. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Western Washington
    Posts
    8,728
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller 302 - 120/240 work -- NO weld power

    Quote Originally Posted by duaneb55 View Post
    IF it turns out to be a board problem, the main control board is a triple layered type with circuit traces sandwiched in between the layers. This makes this board "non-repairable" by most repair shops. I have had one repaired by a local former satellite technician years ago and it did take him two tries to nail it.
    Uggghh, yeah I hate working on multilayer boards... some can be a real pain to get components off without killing the thruhole


    @12v , thanks for the info I don't know why I was thinking the 302 was same as 325... thought I read it somewhere??? oh well... should be an adventure

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,606,518,599.51472 seconds with 15 queries