Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: welder causing monitor interfernce

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Posts
    24
    Post Thanks / Like

    welder causing monitor interfernce

    Ok guys, my welder is in my garage, the garage is on a separate breaker. My wife works from home, anytime I try to weld as soon as i step on the pedal her monitors blank out. How can i fix this ? I have put her work computer and monitors on a UPS but still having issues. I am using an alphatig

    Thanks,
    John

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Snyder TX
    Posts
    96
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: welder causing monitor interfernce

    Ground your welder to earth ground might help. It is hi frequency that is doing it.
    Download a manual for a Miller TIG welder & read up on the hi freq interference & fixes.

  3. Likes Kelvin liked this post
  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,565
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: welder causing monitor interfernce

    Quote Originally Posted by cwby View Post
    Ground your welder to earth ground might help. It is hi frequency that is doing it.
    Download a manual for a Miller TIG welder & read up on the hi freq interference & fixes.
    +1

    Some ferrite core chokes (look for cheapos on ebay) on the cords between the monitor and computer might help, too.

    You might also send a PM to Louie1961 on this forum about this. He has some expertise on RF.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    NW ON Canada
    Posts
    3,423
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: welder causing monitor interfernce

    This is what high frequency can do.
    Jason
    Lincoln Idealarc 250 stick/tig
    Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 52
    Miller Bobcat 250
    Torchmate CNC table
    Thermal Arc Hefty 2
    Ironworkers Local 720

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,565
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: welder causing monitor interfernce

    If all else fails (I would try the ferrite chokes first, since they're probably cheaper), you might look for a shielded cord to go from the graphics card in the computer to the monitor. I don't know whether they even exist, but shielding the signal cord might help.

    If you can find out the frequency/wavelength of the HF in your welder, that might help you figure out where to locate the ferrite choke on the signal cord (google how to use ferrite chokes -- there are formulas to figure out where to place them on cables to filter out various wavelengths).

    If the HF is a high-enough frequency, its path will be close to "line-of-sight" and you might be able to block it by putting a grounded piece of sheet metal between the welder and the monitor -- again, this is a question for Louie1961.

    It might also be worth a call to one of the welder manufacturers (I'd try Miller) to see if they have an electronics guru who might offer advice.

    Let us know what you come up with and whether it works, please.
    Last edited by Kelvin; 09-09-2020 at 09:17 AM.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    7,808
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: welder causing monitor interfernce

    Ed Conley
    http://www.screamingbroccoli.com/
    MM252
    MM211 (Sold)
    Passport Plus & Spool gun
    Lincoln SP135 Plus- (Gone to a good home)
    Miller 125c Plasma 120v
    SO 2020 bender
    Beer in the fridge

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    908
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: welder causing monitor interfernce

    I would start by having a knowledgeable electrician look over your electrical service and be sure it is grounded properly and make sure what was used is still fully intact and doing it's job. Check the panel and be sure the grounding is done correctly and bond screw installed if it should be or neutrals and grounds separate if after first mean of disconnect.

    https://www.esgroundingsolutions.com...ystem-testing/

    Try grounding anything in garage made of substantial amount of sheet metal like any metal benches, tool boxes, etc.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Lockhart,Tx (BBQ capitol of the world)
    Posts
    1,131
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: welder causing monitor interfernce

    [QUOTE=danielplace;8767236]I would start by having a knowledgeable electrician look over your electrical service and be sure it is grounded properly and make sure what was used is still fully intact and doing it's job. Check the panel and be sure the grounding is done correctly and bond screw installed if it should be or neutrals and grounds separate if after first mean of disconnect.


    I would start with this!
    You would not believe the stuff I've seen in main panels and sub panels including new installations!

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    AR
    Posts
    1,860
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: welder causing monitor interfernce

    A few years ago, just for sh!ts and grins, I bought one of the little 80-90 amp Harbor Fright inverter shoe box welders to play with (uses high frequency start I've heard). My shop is about 80-90 feet from my house. Every time I used the HF welder, it would kick my DSL modem OFF! With my ESAB Miniarc 161LTS, none of my electronics have ever been affected.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    908
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: welder causing monitor interfernce

    Yes it could be the machine itself doesn't have appropriate grounding.

    I believe possible if the cabinet of the machine isn't properly grounded and shielding the emission it could considerably higher than they would otherwise be escaping.

    Also if machine ground is actually just connected to the neutral because ground is missing or done incorrectly anywhere the interference could be traveling from machine and out the ground right into the same neutral your monitors 120 volt is sharing which it always does do somewhere but if it is also connected to a good working grounding system the effects are diminished substantially.
    Last edited by danielplace; 09-09-2020 at 04:02 PM.

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Clovis California
    Posts
    1,810
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: welder causing monitor interfernce

    They make Voltage Stabilizer
    They work great I have used the Voltage Stabilizer in pass.
    The problem is power coming in to house but power company will not do anything.
    I am surprised you having that problem on today computers.

    Dave

    Quote Originally Posted by JHForman View Post
    Ok guys, my welder is in my garage, the garage is on a separate breaker. My wife works from home, anytime I try to weld as soon as i step on the pedal her monitors blank out. How can i fix this ? I have put her work computer and monitors on a UPS but still having issues. I am using an alphatig

    Thanks,
    John

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,603,153,039.79245 seconds with 14 queries