Thread: Me or the Welder

Post Thanks / Like

Me or the Welder

I'm new to welding and purchased the Titanium Flux 125 DC from HF.
    I keep burning through the metal at the recommended power setting, I'll lower the power but still will burn through.
    The Titanium power is A -J and the wire speed is 1 -10. The pic is of 14 gauge metal with recommended power setting at 4-5 and wires speed at D-E.
    I'm keeping ~ 3/8 inch wire lead distance to the material. Also adjusting the speed of the weld. I also experienced this with thicker metal at the higher recommended welder settings.
    I'm going to replace the ground clamp that came with the welder as it's cheaply made. I'm not sure if I just need more time welding or the welder is having issues?
    I'd like to take a welding class but that's not going to happen with current events.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by GEH; 09-12-2020 at 12:11 PM.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Me or the Welder

It's you... just keep practicing, once you get to the point of being able to see the puddle 'going' to melt through and you are able to move it accordingly you'll find it just takes a 'feel' for it... You need to gradually move the gun a bit faster the longer you are welding on a given piece of metal as the heat will build up and make it easier to burn though at the same speed that you started at...

Post Thanks / Like

I'm certainly not an expert, and maybe I'm seeing things backwards, but are you pushing or pulling when you move? One or two look like you were pulling the gun and that makes it much harder to see the puddle.

The other thing is that in some cases too low of a wire feed which increases the arc length which will widen the puddle and that causes you to have to move slower, and the extra heat input leads to burn through. The charts are really just a starting point, and sometimes you have to try both higher and lower to find the happy spot that works for you.
    Check out my bench vise website: