Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: question about structural integrity of home made aluminum trailer design/process?

Post Thanks / Like

question about structural integrity of home made aluminum trailer design/process?

Hi, sorry to bother you. I'm planning on making an ultralight trailer and I was wondering if it will be stable enough, and if it's better for me to buy or rent the equipment I need or send it to a shop to be welded together (and how much woudl the shop maybe charge? I am a machinist but I've only done a little bit of welding and have no tools or experience to do aluminum.

My priorities are to make a trailer that is basically just big enough for a bed while making it as light as reasonably possible without compromising too much on integrity. My plan is to base it on a welded aluminum frame using a split torsion axel, with a distribution system that uses a solid aluminum bar core for the axle substitute, a 2" hollow bar from hitch to tail as a spine to support a 1" hollow bar frame, a thin sheet of something rigid for the bed, then a lightweight shell with .75" or maybe .5" angle bar for support and with rigid foam with a truck liner exterior and not sure what for the interior yet. I haven't figured out what i will do for doors as it seems it's best to buy premade.

My current estimate is that the trailer will weigh about 400-600lbs and cost about $2,000-$3,000 excluding doors and fixtures that will likely add another grand. Plus I'll likely need help with the welding as I don't have the right equipment so that will cost more

The pictures are as below. the dark pads are solid aluminum for bolting on the split torsion axel along with the stabilizer jacks (using one in the front instead of a standard jack because the trailer will sit low to the ground - my car is also low profile anyways)