Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need welding hood advice please .....

Post Thanks / Like

Need welding hood advice please .....

OK ... so I got my first welding helmet when I was 14 ... simple old time Fibre-Metal unit. Still have it 44 years later.

That said, it is time for an auto darkening unit. I had a cheap one once (probably Harbor Freight) .. about 15 years ago ... it kind of worked.

I do a bit of everything .... stick, MIG, TIG ....

So I started looking ... had never even heard about "true color" ... or Optical 1/1/1/2 or 1/1/1/1

Soooooooo .... where do I begin?

I see you can spend $50 to $500

Since I am more of a "hobbyist" ... just run a small one man business (I am a retired machinist ... am building a new shop 3500 sq ft, still have all my machines .. build the odd trailer .. always repairing something ... no lack of work, surrounded by farmers in rural VT) ... I would like to stay in the lower end of the scale if possible (say $100 - $150).

That said, I want to be safe and keep my eye sight! I would spend $500 if it meant saving my sight.

Any suggestions?

Thanks .... Mike

Just FYI .... attached a picture. In the background it my original "Sears" 300 amp buzz box ... now 44 year old .. and in the foreground my AIRCO (Esab) DIP_PAK 300. Both are inside the house while I build the new shop (rest of the machines are stuffed into a tractor trailer beside the house). Behind the welders is my last project ... turned the mast off an old forklift into a elevator ... my wife was paralyzed from the shoulders down in a diving accident when she was 12. $40K to buy an elevator ... $2K to build one.

Name:  P1220682.jpg
Views: 587
Size:  95.8 KB
    Last edited by xtal_01; 10-09-2020 at 12:27 AM.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Need welding hood advice please .....

You may want to look at new auto hoods for under $100.00.
    I purchased mine in 2017 for under $60.00 made by Lincoln at Home Depot.
    Works great.

Dave