Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: XMT 304 CC/CV v-sense mode

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Location
    VT
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like

    XMT 304 CC/CV v-sense mode

    Hi,
    I've been using my new to me XMT 304 with my Hobart Hefty feeder and occasionally have an issue with the XMT seeming to "sleep" when I stop running a bead. I have it set on v-sense feeder, say at 18 volts or so, and the display will normally alternate between 18 and 80 (or something in that range). When I start welding of course it'll show the actual voltage. Occasionally when I release the gun trigger, it'll stop making the quiet "hum" noise, and the display will alternate between 18 (or whatever I have it set at) and a much lower number like 4 or 5. When this happens, it won't weld when I pull the trigger and I have to either cycle the power switch or switch it to stick and back to v-sense. Then the hum comes back and I can weld normally again. I can't seem to find a pattern to it, and it hasn't given me any trouble on stick mode so far. The fan will cycle on and off as needed. Any ideas?
    Thanks!
    Glen

    Hobart Champion 16
    Hobart Handler 135
    Miller XMT 304 CC/CV
    Hobart Hefty CC/CV
    Lotos LTP5000D

    If all else fails, try some super glue

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ceres, California
    Posts
    3,618
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: XMT 304 CC/CV v-sense mode

    The 80 equals the open circuit voltage of the welder. If this drops to 5 the inverter has turned off. and your question is why? Could be either the front panel pcb or the control pcb. The fact it starts working when you switch to stick and back makes me lean towards to the front panel. You can try this. jumper socket A and B in the 14 pin plug after setting the welder to MIG. this will turn the output on. if it stays on and you have no problems then the front panel switch is failing. Your call on what to repair. Most pcb repair facilities will not touch these pcbs because of the micro processor on the pcb.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Location
    VT
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: XMT 304 CC/CV v-sense mode

    Ok, thanks. I will try that.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Location
    VT
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: XMT 304 CC/CV v-sense mode

    So far it seems to be working fine on MIG mode with the jumper. I'll have to dig into it a little more.
    Glen

    Hobart Champion 16
    Hobart Handler 135
    Miller XMT 304 CC/CV
    Hobart Hefty CC/CV
    Lotos LTP5000D

    If all else fails, try some super glue

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ceres, California
    Posts
    3,618
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: XMT 304 CC/CV v-sense mode

    If it works with the jumper and still doesn't in VS then the selector switch on the pcb may be failing.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: XMT 304 CC/CV v-sense mode

    Apparently, the problem is really in the pcb. I doubt that someone will officially undertake to repair the micro processor on the pcb with a guarantee, so maybe you should find someone who will do it at your own risk.
    Prime Texas Movers is a full service moving company in Houston. You can read the full description of our services and get free quotes on our website.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Location
    VT
    Posts
    27
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: XMT 304 CC/CV v-sense mode

    Interesting. Do you have a lot of experience with these welders? I don't really know much about them or their repair.
    Glen

    Hobart Champion 16
    Hobart Handler 135
    Miller XMT 304 CC/CV
    Hobart Hefty CC/CV
    Lotos LTP5000D

    If all else fails, try some super glue

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ceres, California
    Posts
    3,618
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: XMT 304 CC/CV v-sense mode

    Most pcb repair places have given up trying to repair them. I sent one in with just a display problem and got back a dead pcb. They tried to over repair it and killed it.
    There is a micro controller and software on the UI/display pcb.
    Might still be able to get a get one. depends on which version you need.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,603,865,597.31241 seconds with 13 queries