Closed Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Frustrating people

Post Thanks / Like

Frustrating people

On another forum a self proclaimed equipment expert claimed Dual-Shield Flux-Core is a MIG process. If it was someone else wouldn't be a big deal but the guy has a big ego and tries to discredit me and call me out every chance he gets. He claims I'm not qualified to give repair advice on equipment because I'm not a mechanic, among other things. I explained the differences between the different wire feed processes and that Flux-Core is not an inert process. Man I sure felt like telling him he's not qualified to give welding advice. Really doubt he's going to admit he was wrong but curious how arrogant he's going to be with his excuses. What's the best way to deal with people like this?
    Quick reply to this message Reply  

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Frustrating people

I would say to just ignore him. He made his points, you made yours. Anyone else out there is free to choose either advice/information and contrasting it somewhere else. Or in the books, which exist for a reason. I don't think anyone is going to take any of you liable of stating something not accurare over the internet.

Some people just think that any process WIRE FEED is MIG... MIG/MAG depends (as far as I know) of the gas mixture used. As long as you are using pure argon, it is MIG. Anything else (CO2, Helium, trimix, etc) it becomes MAG, as those gases have an effect on the weld (more than just shielding it from the atmosphere).

Just forget about it. Not worth the effort.

Mikel

3. Likes Louie1961 liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Mikel_24 View Post