+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Omnipro 220 troubleshooting - help!

Post Thanks / Like

Omnipro 220 troubleshooting - help!

I've got an Omnipro 220 running super hot, regardless of settings.

Using the auto-generated parameters for a 3/32" 6013 rod (80A) and traveling at normal speed across 1/8" steel, the rod burned right through, cutting the steel in half like a plasma cutter. I tried turning down the current to the lowest possible setting (10A) and it did exactly the same thing.

Seems like there's a disconnect between the settings on the screen and the actual output of the machine: the output is maxed out all the time, even when the input parameters are reduced to minimal levels.

This happens with both stick and GMAW (I haven't tried MIG since the problem started).

What could cause this? I'm willing to try to troubleshoot the electronics if need be, though I'm no expert.

I tried emailing Harbor Freight's customer support, but, well, it's Harbor Freight.

I'm really regretting not buying that extended warranty...

Any ideas?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Omnipro 220 troubleshooting - help!

Just a wild guess but maybe a stuck power transistor? Never seen inside one of those machines. I have tackled a couple cheapie machines in the past and won, but never a multiprocess machine. It could be that there is a communication fault, you'd need a more sophisticated electronics tool kit than I have to track it down. The boards probably talk with TTL or serial so you'd need a good scope to check that I think. Inverters are dangerous, like 600+ volts high frequency jumping out and frying people parts dangerous. Not trying to scare you, just don't know your experience level, and wouldn't want anyone I don't work with getting hurt. Some of my co-workers however...