+ Reply to Thread

Thread: New Old Tig machine for new to tig old weldor

Post Thanks / Like

New Old Tig machine for new to tig old weldor

Hi. I have been welding with stick and mig for 34 years. I just recently bought my first TIG welding machine: a Miller 330A/BP. To many this probably seems like an antique, but to this tig newbie, it’s all brand new. I have downloaded the tig welding guide from Miller, and the Owner’s Manual. And I have gotten the tig calculator from Miller, and watched multiple YouTube videos. I know there are many machines with more adjustments and controls than this one, but I still don’t know how to do some basic settings. Is there anybody out there familiar with this old machine who could help shed some light on some of these settings?
    I think experience and practice will get me going on most of the settings, but the following four, I haven’t a clue how to use: start circuit switch (In or Out)? Start adjustment control (where do I set this, and when)? Hi frequency start or continuous (I know to have this off for SMAW). And hi frequency intensity control (where do I set this for what)?
    I know I’ll have more questions as I get underway, and if there’s a certain document or video that would help, I’m very eager to learn. Any help here would be appreciated. - Jon

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like

Re: New Old Tig machine for new to tig old weldor

I've used one for many years - excellent machine. (my avatar) 900 lbs of awesome

Start amperage on mine doesn't have a switch, I usually set it a little higher than the main current for stick. It increases amps for 2/3 of a second on start up.

For tig I usually set it lower, or the same as main amps.

Tig steel, high freq to start.
    Tig aluminum, high freq to continuous.

Hi freq intensity controls the intensity of the high freq starting arc. I set mine to max.