+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Need a MIG welder

Post Thanks / Like

Need a MIG welder

I am needing to weld thin gauge automotive sheet metal (18 gauge is my guess...maybe 20). Trying to stick weld it would frustrate me to no end. I did some testing and I would never be happy with it. I want to do this job right. I have considered flux core since I could probably get a cheap HF one (if people want to try and help convince me that would be a good way to go).I have ZERO experience with anything but stick.

I have a Miller Thunderbolt XL. It does AC/DC and seems to work great on thick metal. I used it to convert my engine mounts and was very happy with the results. It is 230v.

I have been mulling the idea of maybe getting a HF MIG welder used, as they don't hold their value and can be had for cheap. The issue is finding if any of them would be worth it. I'd love to hear if any MIG models they have are worth getting over a bigger name.

I am leaning more towards getting a Lincoln 140 since I just want it for thin stuff and can stick thicker metal. If I should get a 180 instead, and not mess with 140, then by all means please let me know to avoid that. I have also seen LE 31s...the idea of multiprocess and being able to TIG sounds cool but is it worth it in a low power machine?

I don't know enough about Miller models...they all seem high priced. Since a bottle will cost me around $200 it seems, I was trying to stay under $500 but want to make the smartest decision and will pay more if I have to, to do so.

Are there good used models I need to be looking for that can be great value like my thunderbolt that people seem to want rid of due to their size and weight? Hobart seems like they have a couple decent options also.