+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Arch flash

Post Thanks / Like

Arch flash

I was welding today and I have to keep lifting my helmet up to see. I got flashed a few times and I was wondering if I should worry about my eyes? Is there like an extensive amount of time you have to be flashed before you get arch flash or can it be just a few short flashes? I'm an amateur at welding so this is why I'm asking.

Thanks for the help.

Sent from my Pixel 3a XL using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Arch flash

Quote Originally Posted by Destroyr72 View Post
    I was welding today and I have to keep lifting my helmet up to see. I got flashed a few times and I was wondering if I should worry about my eyes? Is there like an extensive amount of time you have to be flashed before you get arch flash or can it be just a few short flashes? I'm an amateur at welding so this is why I'm asking.

Thanks for the help.

Should you worry about your eyes? Did you really just ask that.

Stop lifting your helmet up while you're still welding. Seems simple enough. Perhaps I'm not understanding something that is getting lost in the translation. Please do explain why you have to raise your helmet while you are still welding. That part just makes no sense to me.
    1st on WeldingWeb to have a scrolling sig!

Post Thanks / Like

If by lifting your helmet while welding could you see any better?? Probably not. Sounds like you have a filter lense problem or improper setting on an AD helmet. The painful part of arc flash is actually a sunburn on the surface of the eyeball and just like sunburn on skin takes a few hours usually overnite to heal. Retinal damage is also a possibility. You say your an amateur so I'm guessing you can't see because you're concentrating on the arc instead of the puddle and what's going on around the puddle. I know this sounds crazy but it's fact so try it.
    Ol' Stonebreaker
    "Experience is the name everyone gives to their mistakes"
    Hobart G-213 portable