+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Yes Welder Mig 205Ds ?

Post Thanks / Like

Yes Welder Mig 205Ds ?

Hello all,

I am new to welding and new to the forum.

I have taken a couple welding classes through the local community college and have an Alpha Tig 201xd. My tig welding is pretty crappy (to say the least but I'm trying).
    I wanted to get a Mig welder to try some mig welding. I've seen adds for the Yes Welder mig 205ds for $369 less 15% with fairly good reviews. I have also read the posts on this forum about this machine.

My question is, for someone new to welding and new to mig, would this machine be too complicated to operate or should I stick with something like the Hobart Handler 210?
    I read a lot of discussion about trying to tune in the Yes welder due to its auto settings. I like the dual voltage and especially the weight of the Yes Welder as well as the price.
    On the other hand, the Hobart is a proven commodity and I'm guessing would probably last longer. Plus, it can easily be set up for aluminum.

All of the discussion that I read was dated about 6 months ago and I was wondering if people who have gotten the Yes Welder are still happy with it?

Thanks in advance.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Yes Welder Mig 205Ds ?

Quote Originally Posted by tfasbind View Post
    Hello all,

I am new to welding and new to the forum.

I have taken a couple welding classes through the local community college and have an Alpha Tig 201xd. My tig welding is pretty crappy (to say the least but I'm trying).
    I wanted to get a Mig welder to try some mig welding. I've seen adds for the Yes Welder mig 205ds for $369 less 15% with fairly good reviews. I have also read the posts on this forum about this machine.

My question is, for someone new to welding and new to mig, would this machine be too complicated to operate or should I stick with something like the Hobart Handler 210?