Thread: Problems with TIG Fillet welds on 14 guage 1" Square Steel Tube

Post Thanks / Like

Problems with TIG Fillet welds on 14 guage 1" Square Steel Tube

I am a hobbyist trying to add TIG to my repertoire of welding and I have been doing pretty well so far with some hiccups. Since I want to build some stuff with tubing, I have a long stick of 14 guage 1" square steel tubing and to practice I have been cutting it into random chunks with some mitres and some square cuts and then welding the pieces together, sometimes in a square 90 degree angles, sometimes straight, sometimes T shaped welding and it is the last one I am having a problem with. I am using a 3/32 lathanated tungsten, PrimeWeld 225x, 100% Argon, 75 amps DC and 0.045 filler rod. When I try to make fillet welds on the tubing and I hold with the tungsten pointing right at the corner I often dont form a puddle at all. If I put in filler wire I have to feed it in, sometimes half the wire, to establish the first bead. I tried melting off the vertical wall for the fillet first then floor and vice versa. What it boils down to is I am getting decent welds in other positions but this one I cant seem to get and its frustrating. Either I put in too much power and it blasts through the thin tubing or I dont put in enough power and dont get a puddle and am not technically welding. Any advice would be appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Problems with TIG Fillet welds on 14 guage 1" Square Steel Tube

You may have too long an arc, keep a tight arc, don't set the machine too high (amps), if you need a 100 amps set it to 125 and then use the pedal. If the machine is set too high you'll lose
    some resolution in the pedal.
    Richard
    West coast of Florida

Post Thanks / Like