+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Solid Plate Table, or Movable Strips of Plate?

Post Thanks / Like

Solid Plate Table, or Movable Strips of Plate?

I'm a hobby welder. I have a 2' by 3' Klutch table, which is fantastic for the money, but I recently built a 4'-square shooting bench from 2"-square tubing, and I realized it was time for a bigger table.

I am tempted to build my own table, because I'm cheap. I was thinking I might get a piece of 3/8" or 1/2" plate and drill 5/8" fixturing holes in it. I would have to pay for a piece of ground plate. While I was considering this, I started to wonder if it would be better to make a table from several 6" by 1/2" strips of plate. I have a mill, so I can fly-cut them instead of paying for grinding, and I would be able to drill the holes on the mill instead of renting a magnetic drill.

My thinking was that if I had a table with a top made of strips, I could fix them so they could be moved back and forth, opening gaps between them so things could stick through under the table when needed.

I was originally going to do a 3' by 4' table, but now I'm thinking 2.5' by 5' would actually be more useful.

I thought I'd post my half-baked ideas here and see if anyone felt like giving me advice.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Solid Plate Table, or Movable Strips of Plate?

Quote Originally Posted by Guy Caballero View Post
    I'm a hobby welder. I have a 2' by 3' Klutch table, which is fantastic for the money, but I recently built a 4'-square shooting bench from 2"-square tubing, and I realized it was time for a bigger table.