+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bandsaw Blade Recommendation

Post Thanks / Like

Bandsaw Blade Recommendation

I've been reading posts for awhile on the options for replacing my Porter-Cable abrasive chop saw and today picked up a HF 4x6 bandsaw. Hopefully I'll get one that runs true. I'm a hobbyist making furniture out of wood and mild carbon-steel. I'm cutting 14 ga - 1/4 inch material, square tubing and bar stock up to two inch width.

Every fan of bandsaws has their favorite blade brand it seems e.g., Lucas, Morse, Olson, Farm and Fleet, some even think the HF is ok.
    On top of the brands there are so many variables - raker teeth, variable teeth, TPI. Any suggestions that would fit with my needs?
    Hobart Handler 140
    Harbor-Freight 4x6
    Porter-Cable Abrasive Chopsaw
    Great-Grandfather's hammer

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Bandsaw Blade Recommendation

a few years ago, I had 2 of my 4x6 saws cutting side by side, the one that got used all the time had an Olson 14/18 blade on it that had ALOT of miles on it mostly cutting sched 40 pipe and 1/4"x2x2 square tube, the other was the "backup" saw and had a Harbor freight "supercut" 14/18 blade on it, both saws were cutting the same 3" diam sched 40 pipe the olson blade consistantly finished a minute or better ahead of the HF bladed saw... I still got that like new HF blade its hangin on a nail on the wall all 4 of my little bandsaws run olson blades now, one has been in steady use for 1.5 years and still cuts bout like new... I do use Hougen 11745 Slick Stik Lube on my blades though and it really makes a difference in how long they keep cutting...

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

3. Likes rhunt, johnnycanuck, Broccoli1, ronsii, tackit liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

On my 4x6 I switched to Lenox .030 Diamaster blades and am so much happier with the lack of flex. Will never go back to the .025 blades.