View Poll Results: 6011/6010, whip or drag?

Voters
3. You may not vote on this poll
  • Whip, i was thought to always whip. looks nice too.

2 66.67%
  • Drag whenever posible. whip only on tough root passes or on thin materials.

1 33.33%
  • whip, drag, whatever.. i just stick metal together and my glue is more metal.

0 0%
  • huh? whip? um.. the clamp and rod holder thing-a-ma-jig?

0 0%
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Powr-Kraft 230ac to AC/DC Modification

Post Thanks / Like

Powr-Kraft 230ac to AC/DC Modification

Hello, my name is Mathieu LeClair. I'm a tradesmen welder from NB, Canada. I'm a bit new to the industry but I do have a college degree and several certifications. I'm also new to this forum, but I have been here quite a few times when I would be looking up information on welding related subjects.

With that said, I'm pretty sure the subject of AC to DC modification has been somewhat exhausted, but I'd like to possibly have a few questions answered so I hopefully don't waste my money on components that shouldn't be in a welder.

First off, here is a schematic I found and modified to fit my applications. If anyone has any suggestions, feel free. By the way, both the secondary and the primary are connected, so if anyone is wondering why it's shown on the schematic, it's because it's shown on the transformer. Generally, it would be considered a Autotransformer, but since it's a welder with a magnetic shunt, it would be better to call it a leakage transformer.

So yeah, keep in mind, I don't claim to be a pro at drawing schematics, so things like "the tap on the secondary shouldn't be right there" or "if you intend to use schottky Diode, thats not the right symbol for it" or whatever is overall useless information.