Thread: please help! Buy use mm 350 or mm 252

Post Thanks / Like

please help! Buy use mm 350 or mm 252

Name:  100_4363.jpg
Views: 219
Size:  69.9 KB Hello welders of the world. I am a welder/sculptor/fabricator. I have been apprenticing for a metal sculptor for the last 3 three years, and I am getting ready to start up my own shop. I have the opportunity to get a miller matic 252 from my lws for a good price. But the a guy at the welder repair shop in Sacramento has a miller matic 350p with a 25' python aluminum gun. He also offering a warranty.

Most of welding is shaping/building multiple beads at different temps. But I also have to do heavy stuff as well. I have never spray arced, but now that I have read about and seen the welds. I covet the process. The more options that I have with my bead, the better. The repair shop said they replaced the control boards with the "newer problem free" ones.

So the question is. Do I buy the used one with a lot more options and power or the new one that can do what I need and has a full warranty.
    I have heard that the 350p has issues. Are they common issues or here and their issues? I cant afford to buy the wrong machine. I could really use some valid opinions here guys. I feel like a new father. Except I get to choose my kid. Thanks! The pic is of Oscar the rattle snake. Me and the 211 spent some time together.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: please help! Buy use mm 350 or mm 252

First, welcome to the site. Your creation is awesome ! What material is that ?

As far as machines, how long of warranty on the used one ? Do you need the gun ? What's the price ?

Me, I would go for new 252 with the full warranty IF that will be large enough for your work. You'll have 3 years of hopefully trouble free welding. Plus, see what kind of a deal you can get on tanks and accessories at time of purchase. I found a package deal and CASH helps. Get prices from multiple suppliers too, tanks and fill cost seem to vary by supplier and location .