Thread: Welding while traveling - international dilemma

Post Thanks / Like

Welding while traveling - international dilemma

HI HELPFUL FELLOWS .

I AM AN ARTIST INVITED TO CHINA TO MAKE SOME SCULPTURE,

I USE LOTS OF MIG WELDING, HAVE SEVERAL REAL MACHINES HERE IN US.
    It is part of a cultural exchange program, providing me with apartment and studio, ( no equipment). I know china gets a bad rep on this site, but i love travel and new places, so i cannot resist.

the place i am going does not have much equipment, so its either bring my own, or buy it there (imagine harbor freight right from the source

ANY ONE have any thoughts or experience on this, I was thinking about getting a Lincoln 180 Dual Voltage MIG, nice little machine small, and bringing it over with me and getting an outlet adapter, is this possible for the little 220 international outlet?

Or , I am also leaning towards buying some chinese thing over there, and just risking it, at least I wont have to carry it.

I mainly weld 3/8 to 3/16 and 1/4 round bar into various geometric designs and structures, so nothing heavy or crazy needed.

prefer no flux, mig solid wire cleaner and better.

thoughts? what would you do. buy it there, or pack it up?

thanks. and check my site to see some work. www.craigusher.net

happy new years to yall

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Welding while traveling - international dilemma

Source it over there. You're already going to have to source the gas bottle, as you can't fly with it.

Post Thanks / Like

Your work looks awesome. Is there any local artists that you know in China that could offer some info ? What about trying a China artist website ?
    How long are you gonna be there for ? Can you buy a New machine here and have it shipped there ? Maybe check with MILLER or LINCOLN about them sponsoring you and have them ship for free ? Good Luck and congrats on your achievement .

Post Thanks / Like

Wow, that is a dilemma.