+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 90 amp flux core welder

Post Thanks / Like

90 amp flux core welder

Anyone use this welder? - http://www.harborfreight.com/welding...der-98871.html

I'm new to welding and was wondering how good it would be for a first wire feed welder? It gets 93 reviews with an average of 4 2/3 stars so apparently it works great for most people but I wanted to know if it would be a decent starter and if it has decent capabilities. I plan on making a go-kart so it would see for the frame at worst probably 1/8" thick walled tubing. I was wondering about this one because it's really cheap and I was afraid if I got say a Lincoln 140 or Hobart handler 140 I'd regret spending so much for a 110V unit that wouldn't handle later welding(once I gain experience and an SUV I'll probably be doing some frame work, which I know is a bit much for a 110V and I can't go 220 at the moment due to lack of funds and no 220V outlets yet). If I buy it I'd get better wire for it because according to the reviews the HF wire is dirty and splatters.

Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: 90 amp flux core welder

Take a look back through this HF forum. There have been several threads on that welder and it's twin, #94056. If you post in those threads and revive them, you will get a lot of advice. Search on those two numbers.

I'll summarize my opinion: #94056 is sufficient for my occasional small farm repairs - shovels etc, and welding with bed-frame angle iron. And the present wire is finally good enough.

Since welding a gocart has safety aspects you might want to spend more and buy a welder that a pro would use.

Post Thanks / Like