Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Are you always standing on the job?

Post Thanks / Like

Are you always standing on the job?

Hi, guys. I'm a college student considering a new career path. Before I get into the question in the title, I'd like to give a bit of background of myself, so you guys can better assess whether welding would suit someone like me.

I've been well on my way to get my electrical engineering degree, but I'm getting sick of the general education requirements. I've aced all of my math classes up to multivariable calculus, and aced all the general science (physics and chemistry) classes; but I have no interest in studying completely unrelated topics to engineering. When it comes to writing and oral communication, I feel like I'm already ahead of most of my peers. All of my prior English writing essays last semester had received an A from the instructor, so I don't see why I need to take an additional semester of writing for a career where I'm not going to do much writing. (It's not like I'm going to do research and write research papers.) I don't need to learn more history than what I already know, nor take some useless liberal arts classes.

I'm good with hand-eye coordination and motor skills. In all the computer games I've played, I had acquired a level of skill that is among the best players of those games; so I don't think working with my hands welding will be too difficult a task to master.

Here comes the dilemma. I can't stand on my feet constantly for longer than 2 hours before experiencing some major discomfort, and after 8 hours, they are invariably in a great amount of pain. I've tried different shoes and insoles. Nothing seems to work. I want to know if you guys are required to be on your feet constantly. If I can switch between being on my feet, and not, by a time ratio of about 1:1, it would be very manageable.