Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rod to build up trunnion shaft on skidsteer hydrostat pump

Post Thanks / Like

Rod to build up trunnion shaft on skidsteer hydrostat pump

I have a Gehl 4625 with a leaking trunnion seal. It's a Eaton 70344 double piston pump. I replaced the trunnion seal while the pump was still in the skidsteer...and it didn't fix the leak. The shaft has very slight visual wear, but I'm a hobby machinist and using a micrometer could detect no measurable difference in diameter within a couple 10 thousand's. However you can feel a very slight wear on the shaft.

Question: I'm considering turning the shaft down on a lathe in the local area (to give the braze something to fill/stick to), braze the shaft back up and then turn it down to exact dimension? I've heard of that being done for shaft repair before. What type of rod should I use??

For those not familiar, the trunnion shaft sticks out the top of a gear driven, piston hydrostatic pump. It connects to the levers in the cab to change hydraulic flow to the wheel motors. It's a 1" diameter shaft. It's also be described the part of the camplate that the shift lever connects to. The camplate is what actually pivots inside the pump housing, changing the pistons to redirect fluid flow.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Rod to build up trunnion shaft on skidsteer hydrostat pump

If you are gonna tig it, just build up with steel or some other strong material that will not wear like bronze. Tigging with bronze will leave islands of steel anyway that will not clean up the same as bronze, and may catch your cutter and chip it.

If you are dead set on braze, I would Oxy/Acet silver braze a layer of Easy-Flow 50 or some other high strength silver braze if the shaft is not sensitive to annealing.
    Weld like a "WELDOR", not a wel-"DERR"