+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What welder to buy (<$2k)

Post Thanks / Like

What welder to buy (<$2k)

I am an occasional welder (probably once every month or two). Most of what I do is fairly small -- a few inches of welding. Bicycle parts. Legs for furniture. Etc. I'm pretty good at TiG, but have done a bit of MiG, stick, oxy, and brazing as well. Most of this was in shops with nice welders, but I'll be losing access there, and need to buy a welder at some point in the next few weeks. I have a $100 HF flux core unit at home, but it's never made even a passable weld (still, it's been surprisingly useful for things which don't need to be strong). I've never done aluminum, but I can increasingly see getting into it, so AC/DC would be nice.

A rough upper bound is $2k, but less is better. For the next few years at least, I'll be on 120VAC.

I think I can do everything I need with TiG and stick. TiG would probably good for most of what I do. I do sometimes do less precise work, where I want to hand-hold a piece approximately in position and just weld it in place. MiG is nicer for this, but I think stick ought to work.

The units I've been looking at so far are:

• Miller Multimatic 200
    • Everlast PowerTIG 200DV/210EXT/250EXT/255EXT
    • AlphaTig 200X
    • Longevity Tigweld 200SX
    • Lincoln Power MIG 210

I've only done TiG on nice Lincoln/Miller welders. Honestly, I have no idea how much I'll be losing with scratch start on the Lincoln/Miller units, or with going to cheaper Chinese brands. I also don't know how the Chinese brands compare.

Other thoughts:

• Weight and size matters a lot. I live in a big city in a small place. A little bit of space in the apartment is very expensive, and will eat into any price differences quite quickly. Aside from that, for any bigger projects, I'll be lugging the thing outside. We have a little yard area where I could work.