Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: O/A Kit Suggestions

Post Thanks / Like

O/A Kit Suggestions

So here's the deal. I'm brand new to welding . I've basically been playing around with a MIG in the shop for less than 15 hours total (Millermatic 140 and 255?). I'm getting really good results with the MIG and I want to continue practicing. I've been told the best way to practice and really understand the different elements involved in welding (heat, wire speed, etc) is to practice using O/A.

I'm a stickler for getting the best bang for my buck (I'll spend many hours researching any expense more than $100), but I also have a problem wanting to buy the best quality. I basically have the find the middle ground between "that's so expensive I won't be able to eat for a week," and "Holy crap that hurt to buy but I know it's worth it." Unfortunately the type of MIG setup I want is waaaaayyy out of my price range at the moment but I really want to keep practicing. I'd continue to use the MIG gear in the shop but it can be a bit of a hassle. Long story short...I think an O/A setup is my best bet at the moment, and something mobile would be excellent as I'd be using it outdoors most of the time. Keep in mind you're dealing with someone with a dozen or so hours of actual welding experience, and perhaps the same amount of time in research.

Shopping online is my only option (I live in bum fu%& Alaska and local shops are amazing for advice and help, but not so much for affordable price tags). I would love you guys forever if you could make this incredibly easy for me, as shopping online can be a bit overwhelming with all the options. I want the best recommended starter set-up, but also something that will last a long time if I take care of it. My price range is $200-300 for just the torch kit (I assumed another $100-200 for tanks and gas? I already have jacket, gloves, grinders, etc). The more versatile the setup the better.