Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 37

Thread: new to me welder?????

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    26
    Post Thanks / Like

    new to me welder?????

    Ok, I'm not a professional welder at any means. I had a Lincoln weld pak 120v Flux core welder and needed to upsize. So I picked up a welder it's an AO Smith power supply (arc welder I'm assuming) with a p&h cranes wire feeder on it. I bought new consumables for the tweco gun and hooked up my shielding gas and regulator. It's setup to run .045 wire, and I set wire speed, voltage, and inductance to a set of sharpie marks the previous owner has on the machine. And it doesn't lay down a very nice bead kind of just a worm on top of the steel. If I turn the wire speed down it spits and sputters. If I turn the voltage up it melts the wire and not really burns into the base metal. Any suggestions from the pro''s would be appreciated. Short of taking it to a weld shop and have them check it over I'm kind of stumped . Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Port Orchard, WA.
    Posts
    10,270
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    Iím not a professional welder either. Remember now all welders run a little different. These are the settings I like on my Lincoln V350-Pro with LF-72 wire feeder. With .045ď Lincoln L-56 wire.
    Flat 21.5 volts. 190 AMPS. 200 wire speed.
    Vertical up hill 19.0 volts. 145 AMPS. 125 wire speed.
    For over head welding I use the same settings for flat.
    Donít pay any attention to me
    Iím just a hobbyist!

    Carl

    Dynasty 300
    V350-Pro w/pulse
    SG Spool gun
    1937 IdealArc-300
    PowerArc 200ST
    3 SA-200s
    Vantage 400





  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    26
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    There is a low, medium, high coarse voltage adjustment knob on the front. A fine voltage knob. And an inductance knob but nothing for amperage. I can adjust the voltage from 0-50 volts but when welding the amperage is only around 100 amps. If I can figure out how to post pictures I will.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    SW Washington State
    Posts
    1,830
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    Hello ford1386, your initial description of this machine somewhat indicates that it might be a 3 phase machine? if it is, do you have the correct input voltage and phase to operate it? Another thing: your amperage will be determined by the wire-feed speed, so increase the speed of the wire and the amps will increase, decrease the wire speed and you amperage will decrease.

    Let everyone know what type of gas you are using, how many volts you are set to, and run the wire out of the gun for 10 seconds, measure the length that came out of the gun and multiply that by 6 that will give you the inches/minute of wire.

    Also double check your input voltage connections and be sure that you have the correct voltages selected, also check as to whether the machine is 3 ph or 1 ph and that you have that sort of power supplied to the machine. Best regards, Allan
    aevald

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    26
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    Allan,

    Thanks for the lengthy reply. The machine is hooked up to run on 230v single phase. I am an electrician by trade so I know that part is good. The amperage gauge doesn't read anything on the front unless I am welding but I played around with it some today and it seems to weld better when I'm running about 230 amps and pushing about 300 inches per minute of wire out. Seems like a lot to weld 5/16 steel but it laid a lot wider flatter bead than anything I have done so far. But still doesn't give a nice cursive e pattern.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    26
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    The shielding gas is a master mix from airgas I believe it's 75/25

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    26
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    I have the gas set to 30 dont know if that's good for .045 or not

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Port Orchard, WA.
    Posts
    10,270
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    Start playing with the inductance control. That will allow the puddle to flow for flat welding, or dry the puddle right out for vertical up hill welding. Very cool option!
    Donít pay any attention to me
    Iím just a hobbyist!

    Carl

    Dynasty 300
    V350-Pro w/pulse
    SG Spool gun
    1937 IdealArc-300
    PowerArc 200ST
    3 SA-200s
    Vantage 400





  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Twin Cities MN
    Posts
    33
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    Does the power supply look like this unit?

    http://weldingweb.com/showpost.php?p=6361011

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    26
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    That is exactly it minus the yellow paint mine is green and says it's made by ao smith, but the wire feeder that sits on top is a yellow p&h unit. How do I post pics here?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Twin Cities MN
    Posts
    33
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    I post pics using tapatalk from a phone, it other ways exist. Could you post your model number and pics?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    26
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    Model A3000CP10260, downloading tapatalk now

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Twin Cities MN
    Posts
    33
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    Did you clean and check connections from power supply to feeder, feeder to gun, ground cable, replace contact tip, etc?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    26
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    Yes, yes ,and yes.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    26
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    I'm gonna try to post a few pics






    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Twin Cities MN
    Posts
    33
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    You tried it in medium and high ranges also?

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    26
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    Medium and seem like too much, it's just a trial and error thing there probably isn't anything wrong with it, I just don't know how to set it up yet.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    26
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    Have you welded a lot with yours?

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    26
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    Quote Originally Posted by ford1386 View Post
    Medium and high seem like too much, it's just a trial and error thing there probably isn't anything wrong with it, I just don't know how to set it up yet.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk


    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Twin Cities MN
    Posts
    33
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    Not really, just got it this summer. What region are you in, mine is in twin cities mn, and I bought it locally. It was set up with .035 wire when I got it.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Minneapolis ,MN
    Posts
    130
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    Every weld I do is trial and error
    Everlast 250EX
    Miller 250 Syncrowave
    Sharp LMV Vertical Mill
    Takisawa TSL-800-D Lathe
    Grob 18 in Bandsaw
    Greenlee cut off saw
    Sanford surface grinder
    Deckel style Tool cutter grinder
    and 40+ yrs of etc,etc

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Twin Cities MN
    Posts
    33
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    Quote Originally Posted by ford1386 View Post
    Allan,

    Thanks for the lengthy reply. The machine is hooked up to run on 230v single phase. I am an electrician by trade so I know that part is good. The amperage gauge doesn't read anything on the front unless I am welding but I played around with it some today and it seems to weld better when I'm running about 230 amps and pushing about 300 inches per minute of wire out. Seems like a lot to weld 5/16 steel but it laid a lot wider flatter bead than anything I have done so far. But still doesn't give a nice cursive e pattern.
    Could this be hot enough that you have moved from short circuit mig, to spray transfer?

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    26
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    I'm not sure, I turn the wire speed down and I just get a narrow worm on top of the base metal, I'll try and play around with it some more this weekend and see if I come up with anything.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    SW Washington State
    Posts
    1,830
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    Hello 54stude, you've brought up a good point. If he's got the 75/25 gas and he's at the transitional voltage where it goes out of short-circuiting mode, he'll basically be in a globular transfer mode and the welds won't be so nice (he cannot reach a true "spray transfer" with that gas combination). Running hotter with this machine/wire combination will be much better if he can go with a 90/10 or 85/15 type of shielding gas. Just a few cents to add to the conversation. Best regards, Allan
    aevald

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    26
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: new to me welder?????

    I'm not looking to do anything but mig weld though, and I thought this machine was a mig welder. I've welded with a snap on muscle mig 250 and it welded beautifully with a "eeeeeeeeeeeee" pattern. I'm not understanding how to get back to that. If I turn the wire speed back I just get a narrow worm on top of the base metal.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,634,907,227.28489 seconds with 13 queries