Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The Ultimate Truth

Post Thanks / Like

The Ultimate Truth

Hello Everyone.

First of all I would like to introduce myself. My name is Noah Z Brock and I am a metal sculptor. I graduated from Florida State University in 2009 with a Bachelors of Science in Studio Art. I first started welding in 2005 when I was a freshman at FSU. I mostly taught myself how to do everything I do, although there were a few key helpers along the way. I MIG weld almost everything because most of my projects don't require anything else.

My latest sculpture project is destined for downtown Chattanooga, TN as part of their "Art on Main" exhibition. It will be put on display for two years on the sidewalk on main street. I started building on July 1st and I just dropped off the sculpture at the sandblaster August 15th. This is by far the most challenging project I have taken on.

My website: http://noahzbrock.com/

Please take a look at my Facebook page for all of the build pictures.
    https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?...3832224&type=1
    But here are a few

This is my proposal:

The Ultimate Truth gets its name from the Buddhist belief that “form is emptiness, emptiness is form.” Everything can be perceived as empty because everything is changing. It is only when we break everything down that we realize what we are. This concept is emulated in the sculpture through the broken down structure of the teardrop shape. It is made of over 400 rings that make it one object and many at the same time. Looking at and through this form combines its elemental feel with the surroundings. It inspires the viewer to think more about the intangible world. The form also inspires rebirth since it represents one of the basic building blocks of life, water.

I found out I was accepted on June 29th. Installation will be the first or second week in September. Keep in mind I work 40 hours a week on top of this.