Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Plasma Cutter Wiring ~ Ground clamp plus grounded table possible?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like

    Plasma Cutter Wiring ~ Ground clamp plus grounded table possible?

    Hey everyone my first post here! I did some searching and did not find a clear answer before posting.

    I am trying to find out if I can have two grounds for my plasma cutter.

    1 of 2: The traditional grounding wire & clamp
    2 of 2: A bolted ground from my cutting table to cutter

    I am asking because I constantly go between an upright easel for cutting sheet metal, and also use my flat false bottom cutting table. I seem to forget to move my grounding clamp from work area to work area, and perhaps I could have my table always grounded to my cutter, while also having my traditional grounding clamp. Has anyone ever seen this or are there any complications here?

    I have a Victor Cutmaster 52

    Any opinions and suggestions out there are GREATLY appreciated, I'm thinking it would be relatively straight forward but I might be overlooking some safety aspect for me or the cutter.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    2,960
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Plasma Cutter Wiring ~ Ground clamp plus grounded table possible?

    Sure you can.
    www.georgesplasmacuttershop.com
    Plasma Cutter and Welder Sales and Repairs--Ebay store
    Tec.Mo. Dealer Consumables for the PT and IPT torch's

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Plasma Cutter Wiring ~ Ground clamp plus grounded table possible?

    Thanks for the input!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Beacon and Pawling, New York
    Posts
    1,106
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Plasma Cutter Wiring ~ Ground clamp plus grounded table possible?

    There's no such thing as "too much ground "
    Eventual master of the obvious, practitioner of "stream of consciousness fabrication". P.S. I edit almost every post because because I'm posting from my phone and my fingers sometimes move faster than my brain.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ceres, California
    Posts
    4,034
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Plasma Cutter Wiring ~ Ground clamp plus grounded table possible?

    I would go one of two ways. First put an inline connector.(dinze or tweco) and have two work leads and just swap them as needed.
    OR make one good connection to table then make the second work lead connect to the same spot. This way you have series connections and not parallel.
    By the way these are work leads. they are not grounds because they are carrying current.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    SE Oklahoma
    Posts
    983
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Plasma Cutter Wiring ~ Ground clamp plus grounded table possible?

    As stated yes you can and as stated never can have too much ground ... I even have a ground from my table leg to an outside ground rod
    Located In SE Oklahoma
    Lincoln Mig 135
    Hobart Ironman 230 Mig
    5x10 CNC Table with DTHC & FT
    Hypertherm PM65 on the table
    Miller Bobcat
    www.caneyagequipment.com

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,664,390,162.33868 seconds with 11 queries