Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 64

Thread: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    Hi everyone
    Just bought a like new but used Tweco CC 300 Junior work clamp from Ebay. I had no idea it was missing a copper shim until I watched a video of replacing one.
    Where can I buy a copper shim for this exact model ?
    I do not think Tweco still makes this model, as that is why I looker to Ebay. Now I am thinking I need to buy one that is new in the box, unopened.
    Any help is greatly appreciated.
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Last edited by Jonath108; 03-20-2021 at 03:02 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Central Wa. state
    Posts
    4,827
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    Split some copper tubing that fits over your cable.

  3. Likes Lis2323, Jonath108, rhunt, CAVEMANN liked this post
  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Laredo, Tx
    Posts
    5,761
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    A thin brass ferrule, split down the middle long ways, will also work in a pinch.
    1st on WeldingWeb to have a scrolling sig!

    HTP Invertig 400
    HTP Invertig 221
    HTP ProPulse 300
    HTP ProPulse 200 x2
    HTP ProPulse 220MTS
    HTP Inverarc 200TLP
    HTP Microcut 875SC

  5. Likes Jonath108 liked this post
  6. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Draper, UT
    Posts
    435
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    I used a short piece of flattened 1/2" copper pipe
    MillerMatic 252, HTP 221 w/cooler, Hypertherm PM45, Lincoln IdealArc 250 AC/DC

    "I'd like to believe as many true things and as few false things as possible"

  7. Likes Jonath108, rhunt liked this post
  8. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    Thanks to you all !
    I have some copper shim sheet , is this too thin.
    Thanks

  9. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    NW New Jersey
    Posts
    798
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    Not knowing the thickness, its hard to say. A flattened piece of copper water pipe would probably be better. It will clamp onto the fine strands, and not deform too much. If the shim stock was .030 or larger, it probably would work. Most of my shim stock is brass, and expensive, so I would rather go in the cut off bin, and find a piece of pipe.

    good luck
    Airco 250 ac/dc Heliwelder Square wave
    Miller Synchrowave 180 sd
    Miller Econo Twin HF
    Lincoln 210 MP
    Dayton 225 ac/dc
    Victor torches
    Snap-On YA-212
    Lotos Cut60D

  10. Likes Jonath108, rhunt liked this post
  11. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    9,699
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    Quote Originally Posted by Jonath108 View Post
    Thanks to you all !
    I have some copper shim sheet , is this too thin.
    Thanks
    Just cut a strip off and wrap around a few time as needed, insert, and tighten down.
    For a cable hold, use light tube like thinwall.
    Cut, split, and secure clamp to cable.
    Even a few time wraps would work for a while.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  12. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    3,733
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    Wrap what you have 2 or 3 times and it will be fine. A lot of stingers and grounds don't use the copper strip at all and I've seen some clamps that use a curved piece of steel under the bolt to spread the load over the cable.

  13. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,513
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    i like ur attempt w/ the zip ties. i put a small/fuel line stainless hose clamp there, positioning it to where end of leftover tail tucks through slot. i would tell u to put a lil elect tape b/t clamp and insulation, to help from biting insul, but i think u already hold credentials in the elect tape dept
    Last edited by 123weld; 03-20-2021 at 05:17 PM.

  14. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    Quote Originally Posted by 123weld View Post
    i like ur attempt w/ the zip ties. i put a small/fuel line stainless hose clamp there, positioning it to where end of leftover tail tucks through slot. i would tell u to put a lil elect tape b/t clamp and insulation, to help from biting insul, but i think u already hold credentials in the elect tape dept
    Thank you,
    Electric tape is my friend, as you noted. The clamp spring stopped the clamp from opening without leverage, that's why I picked up another work clamp.
    I also love Electric Zip Ties !
    Thanks again
    Last edited by Jonath108; 03-20-2021 at 05:55 PM.

  15. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,989
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    The last time I did this, I just took a utility knife and scraped off any oxidation on the cable conductors, and sanded some copper shim stock until it was bright and shiny, wrapped the copper shim stock around the cable conductor and then coated everything with dielectric silicone grease (including the big Allen screw that mashes everything down) and put the coals to 'er.

  16. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    Thanks,
    I will just order some copper shim stock. Do you know what thickness will work best ?
    The bottom of the hold down screw is nice and round, even a bit oily feeling. Maybe that is what's left of any dielectric grease.
    Thanks

  17. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    3,733
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    I think there was a bit of confusion with what you were looking for. Copper shim on the stripped cable that's clamped by the big bolt. The piece that goes through the slot behind is not copper but just a strain relieve so the cable doesn't get wonky where the insulation is stripped. A hose clamp is the most common cure. Don't tighten it super tight that it cuts into the insulation, just snug. If you could find some metal zip ties would be better for the heat.

  18. Likes Jonath108, rhunt liked this post
  19. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    Quote Originally Posted by Welder Dave View Post
    I think there was a bit of confusion with what you were looking for. Copper shim on the stripped cable that's clamped by the big bolt. The piece that goes through the slot behind is not copper but just a strain relieve so the cable doesn't get wonky where the insulation is stripped. A hose clamp is the most common cure. Don't tighten it super tight that it cuts into the insulation, just snug. If you could find some metal zip ties would be better for the heat.
    Thanks,
    I know that the outer ring is to hold the cable, I was missing the copper shim, and just want a good fit and fix if I replace the old clamp with a new one.
    Thanks

  20. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    3,733
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    Just wrap the shim stock you have a couple times. If the spring on the clamp is still good no need to replace it.

  21. Likes Jonath108 liked this post
  22. #16
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Central Wa. state
    Posts
    4,827
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    Quote Originally Posted by Welder Dave View Post
    Just wrap the shim stock you have a couple times. If the spring on the clamp is still good no need to replace it.
    If you look at the original post, his old clamp has no insulators on the spring and no doubt it's heated up and lost tension. One of the reasons I wont use that style of clamp anymore... That and the cable pullouts from the bolt. I prefer a heavy duty Lenco type now with a well crimped eye lug on the cable.

  23. Likes Jonath108, CAVEMANN liked this post
  24. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    3,733
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    I did say if the spring on the clamp is still good, as in has tension to hold the clamp tight.

  25. #18
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Central Wa. state
    Posts
    4,827
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    Try reading the whole thread for once... He's replacing the old one because it wont grab anything... DUH.

  26. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,989
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    Quote Originally Posted by Welder Dave View Post
    I did say if the spring on the clamp is still good, as in has tension to hold the clamp tight.
    Congratulations.



    You're a legend.

  27. Likes Jonath108 liked this post
  28. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Mount Tabor VT
    Posts
    7,625
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    I use a stripped copper conductor of correct size to wind tightly around the stripped welder cable, like a Boy Scout manual shows whipping the end of a rope to prevent fraying.

    It then is an excellent next step to "tin" it with solder.
    An optimist is usually wrong, and when the unexpected happens is unprepared. A pessimist is usually right, when wrong, is delighted, and well prepared.

  29. Likes Jonath108 liked this post
  30. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    central Wis.
    Posts
    5,662
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    Quote Originally Posted by Kelvin View Post
    Congratulations.



    You're a legend.
    At least in his own mind.

  31. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    9,699
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    Soft copper tubing will work too. Some old school hardware stores sell by the foot. Match stripped cable copper to size of tubing, cut to length, insert into clamp, and tighten screw. If difficult screwing ,remove screw and use drift punch through screw hole to dimple.
    Having a double ground clamp on a chunk of cable is handy too. If you normally don't need 50' of ground cable, make machine ground say 20' and setup the balance 30' with a ground clamp on each end. It depends on your needs and situation .

  32. Likes Jonath108, Lis2323 liked this post
  33. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    Thanks to everyone who shared your advice.
    After finding 1/2" copper coupling or union was too thick, I chucked it up and turned it down until it parted itself off.
    Now I can easily cut to fit in the work clamp and screw down the ball end screw to hold.
    Here a some pics, forgive me for duplication, Iphone has a mind of its own.
    Attached Images Attached Images    

  34. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    466
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    Some folks simply solder the cable to the clamp. When it's time to change the clamp or cable they simply heat and remove.
    Thermal Arc 320SP ( Lorch )
    Cobra Pythons
    Thermal Arc 300 AC/DC ( Sanrex )
    ESAB 301i AC/DC ( Lorch )
    Thermal Arc 161STL ( WTL )
    Thermal Arc 190S ( Sanrex )
    Cut Master 82, 42. Cut45 ( WTL )
    Victor Gas Apps.
    Boxes and boxes of welding crap.

  35. Likes Jonath108 liked this post
  36. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,989
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Help needed for Copper Tweco 300 work clamp

    I once tried to solder some 2/0 copper cable end-to-end. As conductive as copper is, that takes some serious HEAT. I suspect I could have given it all 310A that my Sync250 could supply and STILL not have the solder wet out all that great.

  37. Likes Jonath108 liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,628,153,639.15667 seconds with 15 queries