Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sheldon Machine "Quick Change Gear Lathe" ESWQ 56"

Post Thanks / Like

Sheldon Machine "Quick Change Gear Lathe" ESWQ 56"

Dream Team,

Long story short: I was given the option to receive a Sheldon Lathe with a 56" bed. It is very old. Best I can tell it is from the 1940s. Unfortunately, it is in my aunts basement, so it will not be easy to get anywhere. It has about a half dozen chucks of various sizes and bits, etc.

The question: is this machine worth my time and effort to tear down, remove from the basement and reassemble? I am just a hobbyist fabricator.

Also, what do you think it would be worth?

Thanks,

Seth

Name:  IMG_9306.jpg
Views: 1274
Size:  50.5 KBName:  IMG_9307.jpg
Views: 1246
Size:  49.1 KB

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Sheldon Machine "Quick Change Gear Lathe" ESWQ 56"

If it was offered to me I'd drag it out of the basement and clean it up and keep it. What it's worth will depend on the real condition of it, where you are and where it is when you try to sell it. I have an old Colchester probably older than that and without a quick-change gear box and cone pulley drive. Yesterday I machined up a non standard nut 7/8" x 20 thread on it to fit a piece I bought off ebay that was supposed to come with the nut but didn't. A lathe can be handy to have it will depend on what you plan to tackle in the future.
    I don't know what the access is like where it is but just in general terms I'd take the legs off and lower it onto a full length wooden skid to move it . It brings the center of gravity down so it is less tippy. Then you can roll it on pieces of pipe or shaft. Have fun.
    ---Meltedmetal

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Canoecruiser View Post