+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: All I can see are the imperfections.

Post Thanks / Like

All I can see are the imperfections.

The guy I made these for is very happy. All I can see is the imperfections. I am self taught, never taken a welding corse of any kind. What do you guys think of my welds, and how can I improve them?
    Name:  DSCF0780.jpg
Views: 740
Size:  51.0 KBName:  DSCF0781.jpg
Views: 730
Size:  59.0 KBName:  DSCF0782.jpg
Views: 767
Size:  57.4 KB

Post Thanks / Like

Re: All I can see are the imperfections.

More heat and practice. Don't look bad just cold.
    Miller TrailBlazer 251
    Miller HF-250-1
    Miller MaxStar 150 STL
    HyperTherm PowerMax 380 plasma
    Lincoln PowerMig 180
    Millermatic 252
    Miller Diversion 180

Post Thanks / Like

Were you doing all of them as flat welds? If I have something I can move around, I'll flip it to make whatever welds I can in the flat position. I can weld vertical fine, but they always look more perfect when welding flat.

Post Thanks / Like

too cold, and it looks like you are trying to move too fast too far with each whip / motion you are using.

My old school teacher used to tell us "Whipping or any motion is a lot like masturbating ... dont do it unless you have no other choice."
    AWS CWI xxxx2171
    1968 SA200

Quote Originally Posted by WelderMike
    I hate being bipolar, It's awesome.
    Quote Originally Posted by ZTFab View Post
    Nice work!
    Visit Regulator and Torch Exchange, Inc. for all your cutting and heating needs!

Post Thanks / Like

Beads do look on the cold side. Knowing what machine you used, voltage ( heat) setting, wire size and speed, material thickness, pushing/pulling the bead, position welded etc would help us a lot. So would closer clear picts of the beads so we can point things out to you.