+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Newbie here, how're my first welds?

Post Thanks / Like

Newbie here, how're my first welds?

Machine: Ironton Flux Core 125
    Wire: Lincoln Innershield NR-211-MP .035

These are my first ever welds, I'm 100% new to welding and I know this machine is not exactly first-rate, but it's what I got. I'll step up to a better machine when I think I'm ready.

Machine was set to the higher voltage level and I played around with the wire speed...found that it was sticking well between 5-6. Material is 1/4" steel, some slag left but you get the idea. Any pointers you awesome guys & gals can provide would be amazing, thank you!!

Name:  Welds 1.jpg
Views: 405
Size:  50.0 KBName:  Welds 2.jpg
Views: 423
Size:  56.3 KB

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Newbie here, how're my first welds?

If you're on a 110-120V, 20A outlet, the practical limit is 1/8" for good fusion. Cut and etch those practice welds so you can feel the tears roll down your face, lol. Yea it won't be good from a penetration standpoint.
    1st on WeldingWeb to have a scrolling sig!

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Oscar View Post
    If you're on a 110-120V, 20A outlet, the practical limit is 1/8" for good fusion. Cut and etch those practice welds so you can feel the tears roll down your face, lol. Yea it won't be good from a penetration standpoint.
    Lol. It is on 120V, 20A outlet...this is about all I can do until I move into a home. I'm going to cut that piece in half and see what's up, I have welds on both sides.

Am I going to fast/slow on these beads? I tried all kinds of positions as well, I like them all pretty equally...but I always drag/lead the puddle.

Post Thanks / Like

Not bad, couple turds there but not bad.

You were given enough some solid advise abovery. Remember. 001 per amp approx for penetration. You can weld thinker than 1/8" just needed to be beveled with a root pass, and multiple cover beads.

Post Thanks / Like