Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Lincoln Pro Mig 140 not feeding wire on setting D

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like

    Lincoln Pro Mig 140 not feeding wire on setting D

    Hey guys, new on here maybe I could get some help. I have a Lincoln Pro mig 140 amp welder.

    It feeds wire. On all heat settings except D, the hottest setting. All I hear is a click from the relay inside but no feed. I turn the setting to C, B, or A and all is good welds normal. Any ideas? I'm in Hawaii so getting it repaired by Lincoln would be a headache I'm pretty handy with a soldering iron.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    SE Pa
    Posts
    1,918
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lincoln Pro Mig 140 not feeding wire on setting D

    Turn the switch back and forth 8-10 times .The D contact may be corroded .

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Andover, Ohio
    Posts
    2,568
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lincoln Pro Mig 140 not feeding wire on setting D

    Mike. welcome to the forum.
    Lincoln A/C 225
    Everlast P/A 200

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ceres, California
    Posts
    3,884
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lincoln Pro Mig 140 not feeding wire on setting D

    must have weld voltage coming out of welder for feed motor to work.
    unfortunately the voltage switch is soldered to the control pcb and the pcb is potted in a plastic block. If you can find a replacement switch from an electronics store you will need to carve away the potting compound to be able to unsolder the switch.
    OR you have to buy a new pcb. Seen it done once, person who did it did a bad job.
    Had to replace the pcb because of other problems.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lincoln Pro Mig 140 not feeding wire on setting D

    Hey I know this is old but my Lincoln welder just started doing the exact same thing. Did the OP ever fix the problem? Give me a starting point please!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Southeast Louisiana
    Posts
    46
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lincoln Pro Mig 140 not feeding wire on setting D

    I have an older Century (made be Lincoln I understand) and mine does that occasionally. Seems like the switch does not always make contact when changed. I just switch it back and forth until it has a good contact and go on. The switch is getting harder to turn lately. Hope it is not too much of a problem if I need to replace.
    Hobart 190 mig
    Lincoln/Century 140 mig
    Lincoln buzz box
    Chicago Electric cutoff saw
    Lotos LTP5000D Plasma Cutter
    HMC Swivel head band saw

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Tiverton, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    22
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lincoln Pro Mig 140 not feeding wire on setting D

    Quote Originally Posted by cabranch47 View Post
    I have an older Century (made be Lincoln I understand) and mine does that occasionally. Seems like the switch does not always make contact when changed. I just switch it back and forth until it has a good contact and go on. The switch is getting harder to turn lately. Hope it is not too much of a problem if I need to replace.
    I'd try some electrical spray contact cleaner. The stuff is like magic.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,632,825,073.95289 seconds with 11 queries