Thread: Hobbyist welding courses in New Jersey/NYC

Post Thanks / Like

Hobbyist welding courses in New Jersey/NYC

Hi,

I am brand new at welding. This is going to be a hobby and only a hobby. I have wanted to do this for quite a while now. I have registered for a welding course in Brooklin but wanted to know if there were more places to have welding courses for hobbyists or just to learn.

Thank you very much for all your help.

Regards,

Bertrand

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Hobbyist welding courses in New Jersey/NYC

I am not being critical; but welding as a Hobby is sort of wonky. I think of welding as a tool and skill that is necessary to accomplish a task. My hobby is wheeling 4x4's (Jeeps); welding is a tool needed to keep my Jeep's on the trail and out of the poor house. Some people are into arts and crafts and use welding to build sculptures, again it's a tool.
    I think you need to stick around this forum and see what is involved in welding; believe me, there is a lot to learn
    Welcome to the forum. Ask questions and have fun!!!
    Last edited by Billdacat; 10-20-2016 at 07:15 AM.

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome, Berty1970! Great that you're getting formal training at the start, have fun with it. You can also watch any number of videos on the web, and Weldingtipsandtricks.com has some of the best. I bet if you watch Jody's videos it will arm you with informed questions to ask in class.

Have fun with it, let us know how it goes!

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome...
    Lincoln A/C 225
    Everlast P/A 200

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome Aboard!

I'm with Bildacat, welding is just one package of skills and tools that makes other hobbies/professions possible.

My 'noisy toys' are farm and industrial tractors with the occasional Jaguar E-Type thrown in for fun.

What were you planning on doing with your welding skills? Artwork? vehicles? (don't mention trailers, PLEASE!)
    Be wary of The Numbers: Figures don't lie,. but liars can figure.
    Welders: