Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Phase converter question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    8,224
    Post Thanks / Like

    Phase converter question

    I need to get an idea of what a Phase converter set up would cost to run 30amp 240v 3-Phase motor.

    Just a ball bark from anyone who has built one or purchased one.

    Trying to help a friend get a handle on costs.


    Thanks.
    Ed Conley
    http://www.screamingbroccoli.com/
    MM252
    MM211 (Sold)
    Passport Plus & Spool gun
    Lincoln SP135 Plus- (Gone to a good home)
    Klutch 120v Plasma cutter
    SO 2020 bender
    Beer in the fridge

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    3,431
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase converter question

    Static, rotary, or VFD?

    Need full 3-phase power output? Or can 2/3 of the 3-phase motor still work?

    A 7.5hp 1-phase 240V input to 3-phase 240V output VFD is ~$700, via quick google search

    http://www.gohz.com/7-5-hp-vfd-singl...to-three-phase

    No affiliation, no rating either for or against. Just a quick google find.
    The best laid schemes ... Gang oft agley ...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    8,224
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase converter question

    I have no idea.

    Pin Router
    30amp 3-phase 240v

    dats all I know.
    Ed Conley
    http://www.screamingbroccoli.com/
    MM252
    MM211 (Sold)
    Passport Plus & Spool gun
    Lincoln SP135 Plus- (Gone to a good home)
    Klutch 120v Plasma cutter
    SO 2020 bender
    Beer in the fridge

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    7,065
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase converter question

    30amp 240v 3-Phase motor isn't much info. A lot depends on the motor and the machine - how hard it starts. But I'd hazard a guess and say you'd want a 15 to 20 HP rotary converter or the equivalent. $1,200 - $1400. or more?
    "USMCPOP" First-born son: KIA Iraq 1/26/05
    Syncrowave 250 w/ Coolmate 3
    Dialarc 250, Idealarc 250
    SP-175 +
    Firepower TIG 160S (gave the TA 161 STL to the son)
    Lincwelder AC180C (1952)
    Victor & Smith O/A torches
    Miller spot welder

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    8,224
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase converter question

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/SCMI-R8-PIN-...-/222127656659

    Not this one. But I was able to go see it and that's when I noticed it has a 30amp 240v 3-phase plug on it. I couldn't get a look at the motor so I don't know its exact HP rating and there was no name plate on the frame.

    So would ya say $700.00 minimum ?
    Ed Conley
    http://www.screamingbroccoli.com/
    MM252
    MM211 (Sold)
    Passport Plus & Spool gun
    Lincoln SP135 Plus- (Gone to a good home)
    Klutch 120v Plasma cutter
    SO 2020 bender
    Beer in the fridge

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    7,065
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase converter question

    Here's one that claims 6.6 HP. http://www.johngweber.com/jgw/routers/l1200.htm
    "USMCPOP" First-born son: KIA Iraq 1/26/05
    Syncrowave 250 w/ Coolmate 3
    Dialarc 250, Idealarc 250
    SP-175 +
    Firepower TIG 160S (gave the TA 161 STL to the son)
    Lincwelder AC180C (1952)
    Victor & Smith O/A torches
    Miller spot welder

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    The wheat fields of Kansas,in a large metal building
    Posts
    305
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase converter question

    One thing to remember when doing load calc's, singe phase current will be 1.73 times the three phase number. So, the 240 single phase service to a 30 amp load will be 52 amps. That is about the limit on residential 200 amp service in DWP land without notification. An inverter may be a better choice if the inrush is high on the router but, no load spindle start probably OK.
    Steve from SoCal now in Hutch

    Miller Dynasty 300DX Coolmate3 Speedway Torch
    Miller XMT 450 MPa plus with D-74 MPa Plus
    Miller Bobcat 225 NT
    Hypertherm Powermax 45
    And a whole bunch of machines

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lansing, MI
    Posts
    6,117
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase converter question

    Throw a static converter on it. Probably under $200. Sure, VFDs are nice, but the only thing you're doing is running a motor.

    WNY converter on eBay sells everything you need and very reasonable. You can set up a rotary if he really wants one, but I've run plenty of stuff off static converters for over a decade and never had any issues with them.

    IMHO of course

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Mount Tabor VT
    Posts
    7,612
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase converter question

    I recently stumbled onto a used 12 year old 7.5 HP 240 volt rotary unit for $400. I've had my eye out 30 years looking for one used at an acceptable price. For specific one motor applications VFD (variable frequency drives) are a lower cost choice. Like a welder, VFDs take power from 1 or three phases, convert them to DC, and dump it all on a single DC buss. Then they make power you choose. Single phase, three phase, high or low voltage, at any frequency. Their limitations are temperature, air cleanliness, and humidity. Some require a PHD in computer science to program.

    Willie
    An optimist is usually wrong, and when the unexpected happens is unprepared. A pessimist is usually right, when wrong, is delighted, and well prepared.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Houston Pennsylvania USA
    Posts
    4,061
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase converter question

    I would think he plug would not tell the tale. Need motor specifics.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Hallieford, VA
    Posts
    2,473
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase converter question

    Quote Originally Posted by 7A749 View Post
    Throw a static converter on it. Probably under $200. Sure, VFDs are nice, but the only thing you're doing is running a motor.

    WNY converter on eBay sells everything you need and very reasonable. You can set up a rotary if he really wants one, but I've run plenty of stuff off static converters for over a decade and never had any issues with them.

    IMHO of course
    I'm running a 3 phase 30" throat band saw off one of his static converters. Cost about $50 IIRC.
    Jerry
    30+ yrs Army Infantry & Field Artillery, 25 yrs ago

    Miller 350LX Tig Runner
    TA 210, spool gun
    Lincoln 250/250 IdealArc
    ESAB PCM 500i Plasma
    Kazoo 30" vert BS
    Kazoo 9x16 horiz BS
    Clausing 12x24 lathe
    20T Air Press

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Morton, Washington
    Posts
    5,019
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase converter question

    Quote Originally Posted by Broccoli1 View Post
    I have no idea.

    Pin Router
    30amp 3-phase 240v

    dats all I know.
    My guess would be no more that 7.5HP which three phase is typically about 22 amps and assuming the 125% rule would put it at 27.5 amps, thus the 30 amp plug is correct. Of course the name plate will tell the full story.

    If you have a single machine I'd try the static converter as it will be the least expensive approach. Understand that you'll lose some HP but it may be ok on a pin router. The tire shop across the street use to run a compressor on a static converter which I would have thought was a recipe for disaster but they ran it for years.

    A 7.5HP VFD will be spendy... you might troll ebay if you opt for that, but understand that not all VFD drives can support single phase input once you get over about 5HP. Check and double check the specs before bidding. The biggest advantage the VFD will offer is the ability to soft start which for heavy loads is preferred. If your utility charges demand due to high in-rush then soft start can save you a bundle if the motor stops and starts a lot.

    Understand that an static or vfd drive will only run motor loads. If the pin router has three phase controls than you will have to either use an RPC or convert the control to single phase and use the static or vfd drive for the motor.

    If you think that you'll be buying more 3 phase equipment then invest in an RPC for sure.

    If your handy (and I know you are) and your not required to have a UL listed static converter then you can make one easy enough. A static convert is just a start cap and some run caps. A quick google search popped up a bunch like this:
    http://www.bolis.com/amillar/electri...hase-converter
    Last edited by forhire; 10-24-2016 at 11:08 PM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,285
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase converter question

    Ed,
    if I was a loaded as you...this..

    http://www.phaseperfect.com/p/t/overview
    Esab/Lorch ET-220i
    Esab 160i caddy
    Thermal LM-200 Lincoln feeders
    Thermal Pee-Wee 85s
    Thermal 60i- 3phase /RPC powered (Beast)
    Thermal Drag-gun 35C
    INE 1500
    Klutch 140i

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    The wheat fields of Kansas,in a large metal building
    Posts
    305
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase converter question

    A pin router that draws 30 amps/240 volt is at least a 10 HP spindle, there is not a lot to a pin router. Regarding a rotary phase converter, 15HP is about the min your friend will need to start the machine. Forget about static converters, pin routers need all the power they can get. In another life I had several pin routers along with a couple Shoda 4 head CNC routers, my Shodas had20 HP spindles and needed every bit when cutting 1" MDF.
    Steve from SoCal now in Hutch

    Miller Dynasty 300DX Coolmate3 Speedway Torch
    Miller XMT 450 MPa plus with D-74 MPa Plus
    Miller Bobcat 225 NT
    Hypertherm Powermax 45
    And a whole bunch of machines

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Houston Pennsylvania USA
    Posts
    4,061
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase converter question

    Call American Rotary.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    n.w. of chicago
    Posts
    858
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase converter question

    Quote Originally Posted by mikecwik View Post
    Call American Rotary.
    I highly recommend them also

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Tustin, CA
    Posts
    858
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Phase converter question

    You really need to figure out what the horsepower is. I would look into Phase Craft on eBay. Myself and several friends have used his RPC panels, they are pretty much idiot proof. He sells you the control box for the correct size idler motor that you need, which is typically twice the size of the motor you need to start. I use a 15hp in my garage that runs all my 3 phase equipment. The panel was about $350 if I remember right and the 15hp motor was free. I got a blow up compressor for next to nothing, took the 15hp motor off of it and scrapped the tank and compressor portion (tank had been welded on and the compressor had a hole in the side of the block.).

    Jim's an awesome guy and willing to help people out with any technical questions. I've talked to him quite a bit the last few years after buying my first 5hp panel from him.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/15-HP-manual...wAAOSwg3FUdNxh

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,627,618,859.27795 seconds with 11 queries