+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Aluminum 5083-H116 Welding With 5356 Wire Cannot Pass Tensile Requirement!

Post Thanks / Like

Aluminum 5083-H116 Welding With 5356 Wire Cannot Pass Tensile Requirement!

Hello all,

I am a mechanical engineer by trade. About 6 months ago our company's welding engineer got into an accident and I have been volun-told to head our welding department in her absence. I have been doing quite well up until we got a job for a defense contractor about 6 months ago. I have tried pretty much everything to get this passed. We are qualifying this to the AWS D1.2 standard and have failed our tensile requirement of 40ksi (welded) with every method we have tried. I need some insight from anyone who may have encountered this or has much experience with aluminum welding.

I have tried:
    - using a chill bar
    - Full MIG
    - TIG Root with a MIG fill
    - CJP using a backgouging technique and LPI'ing the backgouge before re-filling
    - Pre-heating the plates in an oven (around 200 fahrenheit, much below the annealing temp)
    - Pulsed MIG with a trim of 1.01
    - Tried 70% Ar 30% He gas
    - 100% Argon gas

There is likely more we have tried that I have forgotten but suffice to say, we cannot seem to lick this thing. We clean between every pass with a stainless steel brush, we have water cooled guns, I really am not sure what else can be done. We are welding in a separate cell from our carbon steel welding cells. Our problem I believe is a mixture of porosity (found by macro-etching our specimens) and also the heat input which is why we tried pulsed methods. The heat input is also why we chose to use 100% Argon rather than the helium mix. Any help you guys can provide would be appreciated. Thank you!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Aluminum 5083-H116 Welding With 5356 Wire Cannot Pass Tensile Requirement!