+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Aluminum with AC buzzbox?

Post Thanks / Like

Aluminum with AC buzzbox?

Guys,

Please be kind help me clear up on a matter that bothers me in a while.

Simply put: Is it possible to weld aluminum using a classic (old style) trasformer welder?
    Aluminum plates say, 1/8 to 1/4 inch thick, with an old sine wave buzzbox machine and a (proper, if any) stick electrode?
    I mean, no rectified DC, no inverter, no MIG/TIG, no oxy no nothing - just plain old buzz.

Don't know much about AL welding history still my question isn't entirely theoretical. I wonder if that kind of welding technique has ever been in production, since for its present it is quite clear it would rather belong to the museum.

Topic might have been already covered in here, I did search for it with no full relevance. It may be silly for one to ask that, but here I am..

I'm a beginner in welding myself, I do it out of mere passion, usually questions stack up faster than answers but I'm committed to understand and practise.

Thansk for your time,
    Mihai

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Aluminum with AC buzzbox?

Common aluminum stick electrodes are run DC electrode positive.

Post Thanks / Like

Yes they are. I was wondering if there were any exceptions..
    Thanks.

Post Thanks / Like

I tried it once, both AC, and DC. It was a fast process. My sample metal was 2 pieces of schedule 40 6013 conduit laid parallel, side by side. If I'd had enough rod, I might have developed enough skill to make a less than pretty weld. As it is I had perhaps ten rods. I couldn't seem to move fast enough to prevent blowing holes in the pipe. As is, I did stick pieces together. It was ugly. If memory serves, I had no success with AC, It was DC EN that showed most potential.

I believe the old Dialarc TIG welder DC EN was more promising. With that I could form a puddle that skinned over with a gray dull film, and shove filler through into the puddle. It was by no means equivalent to AC TIG.

Willie