+ Reply to Thread

Thread: "Worm Tracks" on top of weld bead when using Lincoln 71M dual-shield flux core

Post Thanks / Like

"Worm Tracks" on top of weld bead when using Lincoln 71M dual-shield flux core

I'm new to using dual-shield and so far I really like it, with one minor exception. I'm using lincoln 71M .035" DCEP using a Miller 250X Ar/CO2 mix@ 30 cfh. Overall I am pleased with results. I am however getting small, randomly appearing Jalapeno-shaped craters in the weld bead about 1/8" long. I've found increasing the gas flow up to 45 cfh significantly reduces the number of craters, but it doesn't totally eliminate the problem. The weld itself is sound, with no visible porosity - these are small surface imperfections. Has anyone else experienced this?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: "Worm Tracks" on top of weld bead when using Lincoln 71M dual-shield flux core

Try increasing your stick out (should be around 3/4"-1") and or lower the voltage. What are your settings?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: "Worm Tracks" on top of weld bead when using Lincoln 71M dual-shield flux core

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Baxter View Post
    I'm new to using dual-shield and so far I really like it, with one minor exception. I'm using lincoln 71M .035" DCEP using a Miller 250X Ar/CO2 mix@ 30 cfh. Overall I am pleased with results. I am however getting small, randomly appearing Jalapeno-shaped craters in the weld bead about 1/8" long. I've found increasing the gas flow up to 45 cfh significantly reduces the number of craters, but it doesn't totally eliminate the problem. The weld itself is sound, with no visible porosity - these are small surface imperfections. Has anyone else experienced this?
    Yes, all the time. Moisture in the wire flux seems to be the main culprit.