+ Reply to Thread

Thread: A question about international employment

Post Thanks / Like

A question about international employment

I am currently a student at a technical college in Georgia, US. I want to work internationally once I finish trade school. What companies offer the best opportunities to work abroad?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: A question about international employment

Georgia Trade School?

Post Thanks / Like

You will need to ensure wherever you are getting your qualifications is recognised internationally, and valid for the type of work you will want to do. Some trades use their certifications as a control of whom can enter the industry, rather than just whether or not you are qualified, so you may need to chose the countries you might like to work in carefully.

Even interstate recognition can be difficult to obtain in Australia in some trades, without even worrying about overseas quals.

For example details of welding certificates needed in Australia can be found here. (Click on the link to the application form).
    http://www.austwelding.com.au/welders-certification/

This link outlines the processes required to have trade skills obtained overseas to be recognised in Australia. I would expect you will have to run some sort of a similar process in most countries you might like to work in.
    http://www.tradesrecognitionaustrali...s/default.aspx
    Last edited by jackdawg; 04-26-2017 at 12:48 AM.

Post Thanks / Like

JB, welcome to the forum.
    Ask at your school.
    Lincoln A/C 225
    Everlast P/A 200

Post Thanks / Like

Hook up with the right specialty company you can work anywhere in the world. PCI, Weldtec, and WSI come to mind. There's others as well.

Post Thanks / Like