+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Welding and Engineering

Post Thanks / Like

Welding and Engineering

Hey Everyone ,

I am new to this forum and was wondering if there is anyone out there that have used their skill/knowledge of welding technology to further their career as an engineer.

A little bit about me. I am just finishing up a 2 year technical degree in welding with a specialization in pipe welding. I am currently working as an intern with a pipe fabrication shop. I have some previous experience working as a manufacturing engineer in the Aerospace industry. I took a break from that to develop my fabrication skill. This brought me to taking some welding classes! I found that I really enjoy metal fabrication and I am looking to try and integrate my background in manufacturing engineering and knowledge of welding processes.

Are there any engineers that have used their welding background to further their careers?

Does anyone else have any experience with this?

I would appreciate any and all feedback,

Thanks,

Bryan Thomas
    Bellingham Technical College
    Pipe Welding and Pipe Fitting _ Instructor/Students
    AWS Accredited Test Facility

Kyle Miller
    Welding Technologies instructor - Pipe Trades

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Welding and Engineering

ya know, lately there been a couple claiming exactly what your describing. but ya ask them a question or two, and either there concerned about speaking there mind, or say things that kinda make ya wonder. just my opinion

Post Thanks / Like

I know a guy who tells me he's a "welding engineer". I know he sets weld perimeters at a few local manufacture plants.

Post Thanks / Like

I think anyone with good fabrication skills would make a better engineer over someone without those skills. A good fabricator knows what will work in the real world and what won't, things engineers don't always know.
    Owner of Fast Leroy's Bar and Grill
    Liquor up Front, Poker in the Rear

5. Likes William McCormick liked this post