+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Dedicated TIG welder or Multiprocess?

Post Thanks / Like

Dedicated TIG welder or Multiprocess?

I have a older Millermatic 211 and now I would like to add TIG. I am a hobbyist (art) and have been looking at the multiprocess units because of the ability to have one box in a compact space. I could use some guidance on whether to get a multi-process unit and sell my 211 or just add a dedicated TIG machine.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Dedicated TIG welder or Multiprocess?

Keep it and get the tig too... just build a taller cart. You will want all the processes.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
    I haven't built anything I can't throw away. Perfection is the journey.

Mac

Post Thanks / Like

I'm old and prefer a dedicated process machine. I'm not sure about the multi process ones as far as issues. If one process goes dead, are they others dead too ?
    As for artwork, isn't that why you want tig?
    What metal do you plan on working with ?
    Carbon steel and gas is pretty hard to beat using mig. Same for SS for artwork.
    I use dedicated mugs for each and I have a tig machine. A old-time 180 SD that I had forever. Each machine has its purpose.
    A foodpedal is a definite must have. Some machines have fixed PRE and POST flow built in, non adjustable.
    Your budget will definitely come into play and thickness and material type.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like

I have dedicated and multiprocess units. All have their place. In a production environment the xmt is the only style multi i would use. Although i do have a couple welders who highly prefer taking their non 6010 stick welding tests with the multimatic over the dynasty.

For art, the multimatic or ta or rebel would all work fine. Artwork it is about wants over needs in my opinion. You are likely not going to push any decent machine beyond its limits.