Thread: Cut&etch

Post Thanks / Like

Cut&etch

I've never done this before, so I thought I'd give it a try.
    I like it.

Name:  cut&etch.jpg
Views: 332
Size:  201.2 KB
    Fronius Transpocket 180
    Kemppi minarc 150
    Esab powercut 400

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Cut&etch

Nice work. What liquid did you use as an etchant? I tend to use Naval Jelly Rust Remover as it works well for me.
    1st on WeldingWeb to have a scrolling sig!

Post Thanks / Like

Yep, rustremover. Not the Loctite naval jelly, but HG which is a Dutch brand.
    Both are based on phosphoric acid.
    Fronius Transpocket 180
    Kemppi minarc 150
    Esab powercut 400

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Oscar View Post
    Nice work. What liquid did you use as an etchant? I tend to use Naval Jelly Rust Remover as it works well for me.
    Oscar, have you tried to use mag wheel cleaner as an etchant? It has phosphoric acid in it. I've tried it and got "light" results. I don't know for certain, but believe different brands have different amounts of phosphoric acid.

Post Thanks / Like

Phosphoric acid can be purchased quite inexpensively at Home Depot or Lowes, just saying. Bob

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by BillE.Dee View Post
    Oscar, have you tried to use mag wheel cleaner as an etchant? It has phosphoric acid in it. I've tried it and got "light" results. I don't know for certain, but believe different brands have different amounts of phosphoric acid.
    I found the safety data sheets for both the HG rustremover and the Loctite Naval Jelly on the internet.
    The HG contains 50-75% phosphoric acid and the Naval Jelly only 10-30%. I had very quick and clear results yesterday.
    Fronius Transpocket 180
    Kemppi minarc 150
    Esab powercut 400

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by BillE.Dee View Post