+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Please look at my crappy welds, looking for advice

Post Thanks / Like

Please look at my crappy welds, looking for advice

I was practicing last night on some 1/8" running 030 lincoln Innershield trying my hand at lap joints and T joints. Obviously, I am just a hobby welder so go easy. The first weld was at the recommended settings and I tried to run a stringer bead, but it seemed kind of "globular" and raised up a little high. So I figured maybe too much wire feed? I bumped down from the machines recommended settings of 250 to 248 and ran some more. Which are the 2 welds to the right. I tried to do the little "e's" on the far right weld. I think I may have bumped from 18v to 17.8 as well for that one (I really need to take notes on my settings)
    Name:  20200707_194758.jpg
Views: 1087
Size:  44.8 KB

Next I tried a T joint

Name:  20200707_195423.jpg
Views: 1050
Size:  40.4 KB

Name:  20200707_201727.jpg
Views: 2189
Size:  48.4 KB

Another lap joint

Name:  20200707_202537.jpg
Views: 1038
Size:  43.4 KB

This was the last welds of the night, a lap joint and a T joint.
    Name:  20200707_204737.jpg
Views: 1165
Size:  72.4 KB

I've read that you shouldn't try and weave with flux core, is that true? Every time I tried to run stringers the bead just seemed really fat like my WFS was too high, and when I turned it down it seemed to small. If I ran the recommended machine settings (or just under once the piece got heat in it) and made the little "e's" the weld seemed to at least look at lot better. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Please look at my crappy welds, looking for advice

Aaarg!!!! my eyes!!!!!!!

Just kidding they actually look good for starter welds