+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Catalytic Converter Protection.

Post Thanks / Like

Catalytic Converter Protection.

Hey everyone,

I was the lucky unfortunate one to have my cat stolen on Dec 23rd at 11:30pm. What a wonderful Christmas Gift right?

I'm out over $1000 for a new cat, 2 new O2 sensors (and one of them was brand new...) plus half the pipe on my resonator. Whether I go thru insurance with a 1000$ deductible or just pay a mechanic, there's 1000$ in parts.

So, because I have to spend my hard earned money that I JUST made before Christmas on repairing my car, I'm planning a whole slew of anti theft measures.

First, of course, is the 4 security cameras ON the car itself (I do cameras for a living).

But the part I'm here for is the cat anti theft. I'm going to wrap nearly the whole exhaust up front in 1/8" wire rope, with ad many crimps as I need.

Next I'm planning on building a guard of some sort around the exhaust. I haven't had the patience to crawl under my car and see what I can weld or bolt to... I get upset every time I look under it and see 3' of my exhaust missing...

I was planning on making a rebar cage (something like 1" rebar) to stop them from easily being able to do anything. Rebar is hardened isn't it? A Sawzall doesn't go thru it easily right? I've never tried it.

After the rebar cage I was going to make essentially a skid plate out of DOM Tubing, but I'm unsure of what size to use. I was thinking 1.000" × .250" but then I thought about 1.500" × .240". I'm not sure what would be better. My vehicle is a 2006 Honda CRV, so it doesn't weigh much, but I'd like to over-engineer it so if I hit something it doesn't bend or crush (I have *some* ground clearance but my fuel tank is low, so I don't do anything crazy off-road).

Other reason for such crazy reinforcement is because I'm going to be running a wire thru the DOM and connecting it to the car alarm. DOM gets cut, and car alarm goes off.