Results 1 to 25 of 32

Thread: Powermax 30 air won't power up

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like

    Powermax 30 air won't power up

    My brand new, just off of the truck yesterday Hypertherm Powermax 30 Air won't power up. I tried both of the provided plugs in receptacles of the appropriate amperage and voltage and there isn't even a dim light to tell me anything... nothing. I called the supplier very early this morning and left a message. Hopefully this can be fixed. If anybody has a clue... chime in.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    154
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Powermax 30 air won't power up

    make sure all the torch pieces are installed correct. i think theres some sensors that wont let the machine work. otherwise maybe it got banged around in shipping or something.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ceres, California
    Posts
    3,841
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Powermax 30 air won't power up

    Check with supplier first thing Monday. they might have another unit and will trade you. If not ask if they have a Hypertherm repair guy who can look at it.
    Or call Hypertherm and ask them what to do and who is the closet repair center to you. They might let you take the cover off a look for loose connections on the power switch. The plasma worked before it was put in the box so something happened in shipping to knock something loose.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Powermax 30 air won't power up

    Unit is being swapped out. I will update soon.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Powermax 30 air won't power up

    Quote Originally Posted by nelzweldz View Post
    Unit is being swapped out. I will update soon.
    My woes with buying a plasma cutter continue. It has been a full 2 weeks since the arrival of the defective unit. Well the manufacturer has made an effort to make me whole by having another unit sent to me from the supplier. It arrived today in a box that was very obviously cut open, patched and taped up again. I am not even going to open it. I am so frustrated over this. My understanding is they sent a brand new unit to the supplier and the supplier sent me from their stock! What I got looks it was returned... many times. Aaargh!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Powermax 30 air won't power up

    After what happened with the first one I got I do not trust that what's inside is brand new.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Powermax 30 air won't power up

    This has turned into a purchasing nightmare. A sales representative offered me consumables and assured me a pristine new unit is in that damaged second box. I argued my point about paying for BRAND NEW! I finally said I would open the box and see. What a mistake! Two of the inner support plastic packaging pieces were missing. This is someone else's returned unit. It's used. It's that scene in Vanilla Sky where he is yelling "TECH SUPPORT!" "IT'S A NIGHTMARE!" They are telling me there is a wait for a brand new unit... I will wait.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Powermax 30 air won't power up

    delete post
    Last edited by nelzweldz; 03-10-2021 at 05:34 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Under a Rock
    Posts
    6,112
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Powermax 30 air won't power up

    Thatís a tough one.
    I know it sucks and not what you want but,

    I think maybe I would just take it home and see if it works.
    And move on.
    Miller 211
    Hypertherm PM 45
    1961 Lincoln Idealarc 250
    HTP 221


    True Wisdom only comes from Pain.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    154
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Powermax 30 air won't power up

    what place did you order it from? got mine from harris welding supplies and it arrived perfect shape
    invertig 221 water cooled
    millermatic 211

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Powermax 30 air won't power up

    Quote Originally Posted by cornchip View Post
    what place did you order it from? got mine from harris welding supplies and it arrived perfect shape
    For now I will just say that I wish I had ordered from Harris.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Powermax 30 air won't power up



    These are the pictures I took at the UPS store to send the unit back. I didn't even take the unit out of this box. I basically opened the box, looked at the used plasma cutter with the missing plastic anti crush pieces missing then I taped it back up and printed the shipping label. Off it went.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    169
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Powermax 30 air won't power up

    Quote Originally Posted by nelzweldz View Post


    These are the pictures I took at the UPS store to send the unit back. I didn't even take the unit out of this box. I basically opened the box, looked at the used plasma cutter with the missing plastic anti crush pieces missing then I taped it back up and printed the shipping label. Off it went.
    I would have done the same. You paid for a new one. You should receive a new one.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Powermax 30 air won't power up

    Quote Originally Posted by kize View Post
    I would have done the same. You paid for a new one. You should receive a new one.
    Thanks! I am sharing my experience to help others... to help future buyers.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Powermax 30 air won't power up

    Quote Originally Posted by John T View Post
    That’s a tough one.
    I know it sucks and not what you want but,

    I think maybe I would just take it home and see if it works.
    And move on.
    No. I saved for this piece of equipment. I worked extra hours. I gave up my personal time. I paid close to $2000. I paid for brand new Powermax 30 Air plasma cutter. Why would I settle for less? Now assurances have been made that I would get brand new direct from the manufacturer. I am hopeful.

  16. Likes John T liked this post
  17. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Under a Rock
    Posts
    6,112
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Powermax 30 air won't power up

    Quote Originally Posted by nelzweldz View Post
    No. I saved for this piece of equipment. I worked extra hours. I gave up my personal time. I paid close to $2000. I paid for brand new Powermax 30 Air plasma cutter. Why would I settle for less? .
    My point was,
    Even though they did a crappy job packing it
    I would have at least took it out of the box and plugged it in.

    It very well may have been YOUR machine and maybe they fixed something simple on it and sent it back to you.
    If it worked well and it looked brand new with no dents etc. I would have kept it and moved on.

    Thatís my take on it.

    All your pissing and moaning
    Isnít helping you any.
    Itís just prolonging the problem
    Perhaps unnecessarily.
    Miller 211
    Hypertherm PM 45
    1961 Lincoln Idealarc 250
    HTP 221


    True Wisdom only comes from Pain.

  18. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    91
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Powermax 30 air won't power up

    Quote Originally Posted by John T View Post
    My point was,
    Even though they did a crappy job packing it
    I would have at least took it out of the box and plugged it in.

    It very well may have been YOUR machine and maybe they fixed something simple on it and sent it back to you.
    If it worked well and it looked brand new with no dents etc. I would have kept it and moved on.

    That’s my take on it.

    All your pissing and moaning
    Isn’t helping you any.
    It’s just prolonging the problem
    Perhaps unnecessarily.
    I feel it is helpful to me to vent. Especially in a section of a forum directly aimed at what I am venting about. I ordered the plasma cutter from Bakers Gas because they had the best price online. The two units crossed paths in shipping. The first appeared to be new but never flickered. The second unit was in the box pictured and was missing plastic crush prevention pieces that were in the first box. Also the clear plastic drape had obviously been "handled" and the ziplock plastic bag that the owners manual was in had obviously been handled as well. With all the indications that the second plasma cutter was opened and used why would I even bother plugging it in? Especially with what happened with the first unit. Even if it worked, why should I settle for an obviously returned plasma cutter?

  19. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    154
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Powermax 30 air won't power up

    that vendor should feel lucky theyve escaped with just a slap on the hand. i would of put them on blast the moment that train wreck showed up at my door. obviously they have zero pride in what they do
    invertig 221 water cooled
    millermatic 211

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,624,284,458.45068 seconds with 12 queries