Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ground cable and clamp upgrade, Miller 211

Post Thanks / Like

Ground cable and clamp upgrade, Miller 211

So I have a 211 that I purchased new in November of last year and the biggest complaint I have is the ground cable seems a little thin and I also want to upgrade the clamp to the USA Forged full brass style. Is it worth doing this and if so, what's the best way of going about doing this?
    Current machine: Miller 211
    Past machine(s): Hobart Handler 190
    “The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants” - Thomas Jefferson

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Ground cable and clamp upgrade, Miller 211

I replaced my ground by going to the local welding shop bought a piece of cable, the length I wanted (15'), 2 lugs and a ground clamp. I asked the shop to put the lugs on with their tool and out the door I went. Works for me fine, but then I'm a novice welder and don't know the difference except I really liked the longer cable. Good luck.

Post Thanks / Like

I'd say it's worth upgrading given the truly crap stock setup. If not the cable for sure 100% the work/ground clamp should be changed out.

Everything will work more efficiently with a less anemic work cable/clamp, and run cooler (longer component life).

You'll get a little more oomph at the top end and a slightly crisper arc also (though this could be in my mind), but don't expect a drastic change.

A local welding shop is the best way to do this, and I found their prices were on par with buying online when everything was factored in.

I believe my 5 year old mm211 came with a 10ft 6awg work cable, with 1/4" lug (double check lug size, I may be incorrect). Very undersized IMO especially when coupled with the chintzy excuse for a work clamp miller ships out.

I changed it out for a 15ft 2awg with a tweco ground clamp.