Thread: newbie here

Post Thanks / Like

newbie here

Hi
    I have no welding experience. I am trying to figure out the best way to weld new exhaust plumbing for my car. I have some mild steel to stainless vbands i need to weld. I'd like the weld to be semi pretty and strong, but I'm not sure what welder to get or even the right filler. The most information I've got so far is 309 filler maybe works. Does 309 cover filler for all types of welders mig tig and stick?

I also have some aluminum piping to V bands as well. I have no idea what filler I'd use. My aluminum tube doesn't get more than a 1/4 inch thick.

George
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Post Thanks / Like

Re: newbie here

Welcome

Sent from my LM-X420 using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like

I would STRONGLY suggest that you get some experience and basic knowledge before attempting this, the aluminum cannot be welded to steel or stainless.
    IMPEACH BIDEN!
    NRA LIFE MEMBER

UNITWELD 175 AMP 3 IN1 DC
    MIDSTATES 300 AMP AC MACHINE
    GOD HELP AMERICA!
    “Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction.
    We didn’t pass it to our children in the bloodstream".
    RONALD REAGAN

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by CAVEMANN View Post
    I would STRONGLY suggest that you get some experience and basic knowledge before attempting this, the aluminum cannot be welded to steel or stainless.
    I strongly suggest the OP pays somebody with some real experience to do it right. That kind of experience does not happen overnight. Plus I smell SPAM cooking.

5. Likes CAVEMANN liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

309 filler is correct. We are doing some cooling system piping with those same bands to 1018 steel tubes. I only tig those and ran them on a rotary table.

Sure buy yourself a welder and tack, but let someone with lots of muscle memory under their belt weld it out.
    Weld like a "WELDOR", not a wel-"DERR"