+ Reply to Thread

Thread: How's my welding?

Post Thanks / Like

How's my welding?

Hey guys!

I think this is my first post here, so

I'm working on a firewall for a 71 Chevrolet Suburban. This is my first time welding sheet metal and my second time using my welder so I'm definitely a beginner. That being said, what advice can you guys give me on my welds? The firewall and patch panel are 16ga, I'm using a Millermatic 140 Autoset MIG.

Settings:
    Wirespeed - Autoset for .030
    Voltage - 8 volts

I think I need to do a better job spacing my patch to help with penetration and obviously I missed that the backside of the existing sheet metal had some rust that I should have cut out. Is there anything else you guys see that I'm doing wrong? How can I go about fixing it?

Fitting up the patch panel:
    Name:  IMG_1241.jpg
Views: 784
Size:  76.9 KB

Close up of patch fitment, some areas have a larger gap than others:
    Name:  IMG_1244.jpg
Views: 805
Size:  70.8 KB

Close up of the front side of the welds, sorry about the rotation:
    Name:  IMG_1249.jpg
Views: 804
Size:  124.0 KB
    Name:  IMG_1250.jpg
Views: 816
Size:  111.8 KB

Back side of the welds (again, sorry about the rotation):
    Name:  IMG_1254.jpg
Views: 776
Size:  99.2 KB

2. Likes smerf liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: How's my welding?

Here's what it looks like after I ground down the welds. Sorry, I wasn't thinking about the iPhone picture rotation problem when I took the pics.

Name:  IMG_1263.jpg
Size:  107.7 KB
    Name:  IMG_1260.jpg
Views: 820
Size:  79.6 KB
    Name:  IMG_1261.jpg
Size:  106.2 KB