Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Miller Dialarc HF

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    Miller Dialarc HF

    Hi everyone
    I took a look at the serial number and this welder was made in 1978!!!
    Name:  6DAADBC3-C653-47BF-A933-0A58A5DAC2B5.jpg
Views: 194
Size:  106.3 KB
    I have had it since 2015 , and it runs 7018 and 6010 real smooth.
    Anyone stick weld in dc at 310 amps ? What would even need that to run ?
    Last edited by Jonath108; 03-13-2021 at 10:17 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    central Wis.
    Posts
    5,659
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller Dialarc HF

    1/4" electrodes. I have used mine at maximum for gouging with an air arc.

  3. Likes Jonath108 liked this post
  4. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan
    Posts
    935
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller Dialarc HF

    The non-HF Dialarc is only a 265A machine, so the fact the HF version is 310A tells me they were probably thinking that would be useful mostly for TIG.
    Check out my bench vise website:
    http://mivise.com


    Miller Syncrowave 250DX
    Millermatic 350P with XR AlumaPro
    Miller Regency 200 with 22A feeder and Spoolmatic 3
    Hobart Champion Elite
    Everlast PowerTig 210EXT

  5. Likes Jonath108 liked this post
  6. #4
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    80
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller Dialarc HF

    Quote Originally Posted by G-ManBart View Post
    The non-HF Dialarc is only a 265A machine, so the fact the HF version is 310A tells me they were probably thinking that would be useful mostly for TIG.
    Hi,
    I thought the HF Version WAS for TIG???

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sebeka and Bemidji MN
    Posts
    14,835
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller Dialarc HF

    Quote Originally Posted by seagiant View Post
    Hi,
    I thought the HF Version WAS for TIG???
    Tig and stick.
    Might gouge but I didn't try it with mine.

    I've scratch start DC tig welded with mine. Works great.
    Last edited by MinnesotaDave; 03-14-2021 at 03:14 PM.
    Dave J.

    Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

    Syncro 350
    Invertec v250-s
    Thermal Arc 161 and 300
    MM210
    Dialarc
    Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.

  8. Likes Jonath108, seagiant liked this post
  9. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sebeka and Bemidji MN
    Posts
    14,835
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller Dialarc HF

    Quote Originally Posted by G-ManBart View Post
    The non-HF Dialarc is only a 265A machine, so the fact the HF version is 310A tells me they were probably thinking that would be useful mostly for TIG.
    From all the manuals I've seen, all the Dialarcs are 310 amps.
    The plates on the machines are kind of misleading sometimes.

    In general, for overall wattage output, tig ends up with higher amps due to lower welding voltage.

    DialarcHF manual:
    Name:  Screenshot_20210314-133649_Drive.jpg
Views: 148
Size:  189.6 KB

    Standard Dialarc duty cycle chart.
    Name:  Screenshot_20210314-140606_Drive.jpg
Views: 150
Size:  82.6 KB
    Dave J.

    Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

    Syncro 350
    Invertec v250-s
    Thermal Arc 161 and 300
    MM210
    Dialarc
    Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.

  10. Likes Jonath108 liked this post
  11. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller Dialarc HF

    That being said,
    does that mean the percentage would be based on 270 amps when dc stick welding in high mode, as opposed to the printed "310" on the machine in high ?
    Just wondering if I am figuring wrong with how many amps, when I am running at 60% in high mode and dc stick welding ?
    Thanks

  12. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan
    Posts
    935
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller Dialarc HF

    Quote Originally Posted by seagiant View Post
    Hi,
    I thought the HF Version WAS for TIG???
    Sorry, I worded that poorly. I meant a higher amperage limit (if that's the case) would be useful for TIG....310A for TIG isn't a crazy number, but it's pretty high for most stick welding (that mere mortals might do).
    Check out my bench vise website:
    http://mivise.com


    Miller Syncrowave 250DX
    Millermatic 350P with XR AlumaPro
    Miller Regency 200 with 22A feeder and Spoolmatic 3
    Hobart Champion Elite
    Everlast PowerTig 210EXT

  13. Likes Jonath108, seagiant liked this post
  14. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan
    Posts
    935
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller Dialarc HF

    Quote Originally Posted by MinnesotaDave View Post
    From all the manuals I've seen, all the Dialarcs are 310 amps.
    The plates on the machines are kind of misleading sometimes.

    In general, for overall wattage output, tig ends up with higher amps due to lower welding voltage.

    DialarcHF manual:
    Hmmm...now I'm confused! I've had a couple of Dialarcs, so I found the serial number of the oldest one I've had (JF920141) and looked up the manual. It shows a duty cycle chart similar to what you posted, but the graph for output ratings is different.

    It lists 300A as max for AC and 265A max for DC outut, which matches with the range selector switch. The newer Dialarc I had also had a max of 265 DC listed on the range selector switch.

    I haven't owned an HF version, but all that I have seen pictures of have a max of 310A listed both AC and DC on the range selector. My head hurts now...lol
    Check out my bench vise website:
    http://mivise.com


    Miller Syncrowave 250DX
    Millermatic 350P with XR AlumaPro
    Miller Regency 200 with 22A feeder and Spoolmatic 3
    Hobart Champion Elite
    Everlast PowerTig 210EXT

  15. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller Dialarc HF

    Thanks
    I guess 1/4" 7018 could take up to 310 as well.

  16. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    3,729
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Miller Dialarc HF

    I worked in a tank shop that had a Dialarc 250 for a maintainence welder. One of the guys needed a machine and all the 3 phase machines were being used. He proceeded to burn 1/4" 7024 to weld the inside seam of a tank about 10ft. diameter. You could smell the machine burning up! They told him but his response was just about done. He was a more senior employee but I think in most shops you'd get fired for doing something stupid like that. Generally AC/DC machines put out more current on AC than DC (transformer machine anyway).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,628,091,289.98217 seconds with 13 queries