+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Hello from the UK

Post Thanks / Like

Hello from the UK

Hello fellow welders,

I am a complete welding novice - it seems as though most of you are Americans. I did live with my wife and kids (and we loved it) in Virginia (in Langley - we had the CIA for neighbours - great neighbourhood watch) for a few years in the 90s. I have just done my first sample weld having watched a YouTube video. I was welding 6 & 8mm rod to itself reasonably tidily after 3 or 4 goes. I have a Parweld XTS 143 MMA (maybe a UK only brand), helmet, gloves and rods which was recommended and supplied by my local fabricator - it seems great. I am initially interested in making garden products eg obelisks, climbing frames and plant supports from 6/8mm steel rod which seem to cost 4-5 times the cost of the raw metal made up in the UK. I am particularly interested in any recommendations for UK suppliers for such things as mild steel balls or spheres, part drilled with 8mm holes or pre-made rings around 350mm diameter (just to save me having to make them).

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Hello from the UK

Welcome to WELDING WEB!
    UNITWELD 175 AMP 3 IN1 DC
    MIDSTATES 300 AMP AC MACHINE
    LET'S GO BRANDON!"INFLATION-THAT'S THE PRICE WE PAY FOR THOSE GOVERNMENT BENEFITS EVERYBODY THOUGHT WERE FREE."RONALD REAGAN
    JEFF

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Andrewmetcalf View Post
    Hello fellow welders,