Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How strong is this kind of weld?

Post Thanks / Like

How strong is this kind of weld?

Hello, I was needing to join two aluminum i-beams at about a 167 deg angle angle between them (joining them flat would result in a 180 deg angle between them).

They would need to be cut at a slant to achieve this small angle. Once joined the beams will be loaded normally with vertical loadings.

My question is, would this angle weld significantly reduce the strength of the overall beam? And if so, would it then be better to bolt the angle instead of welding it?

see the attached picture for reference, thanks

Jack
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Jack732; 03-28-2021 at 03:38 PM.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: How strong is this kind of weld?

I'm not an engineer, but my gut says I might want to gusset the bottom chord (in tension) somehow to increase its tensile strength. Might even want to "box out" the joint by welding plates connecting the top and bottom flanges to help resist bucking of the top chord (top flange) due to compression.

I suspect there's also going to be a torsion component -- it's going to want to twist and/or roll over -- so I'd want to make sure it was held in place laterally real well (with a "ridge beam" so to speak) if that makes any sense...

An I-beam is really meant to be loaded in only one way, I believe -- aren't they generally weaker if you load them sideways rather than in line with the web? If you get any sideways deflection due to strain, then you're going to be side-loading it, seems like...and the more it deflects, the weaker it's gonna get.

Where will this welded beam be supported from below? At each end? Any support in the middle?

Back to the Holiday Inn for me.
    Last edited by Kelvin; 03-28-2021 at 03:55 PM.

Post Thanks / Like