Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 28

Thread: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    Hi everyone,
    I want to put new leads on my Dialarc HF. Its a 1979 model and max amps of 310. I only use it for stick and mostly run 5/32 7018 and 6010. I only need about 20 feet and usually run under 200 amps. I do not plan on welding aluminum or using AC.
    I am also going to add Tweco adapters for the lug type terminals and use dinse connectors.
    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Under a Rock
    Posts
    6,169
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    Name:  awg-cables-sizes5.jpg
Views: 319
Size:  105.3 KB
    Miller 211
    Hypertherm PM 45
    1961 Lincoln Idealarc 250
    HTP 221


    True Wisdom only comes from Pain.

  3. Likes Jonath108 liked this post
  4. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Location
    Near Roanoke, VA
    Posts
    319
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    Look at an ampacity chart,, with your amps, and wire size,, expect a low duty cycle to keep the wire from heating.

    I would do it,, but, I never weld continuously,,

    https://www.lapptannehill.com/resour...ampacity-chart

  5. Likes Jonath108 liked this post
  6. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    Quote Originally Posted by John T View Post
    Name:  awg-cables-sizes5.jpg
Views: 319
Size:  105.3 KB
    Thanks,
    Looks like I should go for 1/0 just to be safe.

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan
    Posts
    935
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jonath108 View Post
    Thanks,
    Looks like I should go for 1/0 just to be safe.
    Why? 1/0 is good for up to 60% duty cycle at 350A as long as the leads are combined 50ft or less.....way more than what you're talking about. #1 is good for 60% at 300A so there is really no way you'd have an issue at 200A or lower. #1 is probably close to 100% at 200A with 50ft or less combined leads...and nobody can stick weld 100%.
    Check out my bench vise website:
    http://mivise.com


    Miller Syncrowave 250DX
    Millermatic 350P with XR AlumaPro
    Miller Regency 200 with 22A feeder and Spoolmatic 3
    Hobart Champion Elite
    Everlast PowerTig 210EXT

  8. Likes Louie1961, Jonath108 liked this post
  9. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Location
    Near Roanoke, VA
    Posts
    319
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jonath108 View Post
    Thanks,
    Looks like I should go for 1/0 just to be safe.
    You will use a 1/0 cable seven times, then toss it in the corner because it is too heavy.

  10. Likes John T, Dave66, Louie1961, Jonath108 liked this post
  11. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,988
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    I suspect your welder would hit its duty cycle long before 20' of AWG #1 welding leads would.

  12. Likes Jonath108 liked this post
  13. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    4,321
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    I run 2 gauge on my syncrowave (which also goes up to 310 amps) and with short leads I have never had a problem.
    Miller Multimatic 255

  14. Likes Jonath108 liked this post
  15. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cave Creek AZ
    Posts
    3,256
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    Number 1 is perfect for that machine. It probably has something like #4 on it from the factory.

  16. Likes Jonath108 liked this post
  17. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    7,065
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    For your use, #2 should be more than adequate. If you are concerned, use a #1 work lead and a #2 stinger lead.

    I just had to move a big bundle of long 2/0 leads just a few feet. OMG heavy.
    "USMCPOP" First-born son: KIA Iraq 1/26/05
    Syncrowave 250 w/ Coolmate 3
    Dialarc 250, Idealarc 250
    SP-175 +
    Firepower TIG 160S (gave the TA 161 STL to the son)
    Lincwelder AC180C (1952)
    Victor & Smith O/A torches
    Miller spot welder

  18. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Oldendum View Post
    For your use, #2 should be more than adequate. If you are concerned, use a #1 work lead and a #2 stinger lead.

    I just had to move a big bundle of long 2/0 leads just a few feet. OMG heavy.
    When I called my LWS, they said #1, and both leads should be the same , as in #1 leads.

  19. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,988
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    Upsell!

  20. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    Are all welding cables about the same, or is their a brand that is superior ?
    Thanks

  21. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan
    Posts
    935
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jonath108 View Post
    Are all welding cables about the same, or is their a brand that is superior ?
    Thanks
    There are some that are better than others. The quality of the jacket matters and the higher strand count the better...both lead to more flexible cables. I stay away from the imported cables....tends to be lower quality, and more importantly....it often stinks! Quality cable made in the U.S. can be quite flexible and actually smells nice.

    I've bought from this company many times...they're local to me, but sell on eBay and I think Amazon.

    This is for their red #1 cable, but they offer it in black and probably have a set with 20ft of black and 20ft or red if you look through their listings.

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/1-AWG-EXCEL...MAAOSwhOVXe9vP
    Check out my bench vise website:
    http://mivise.com


    Miller Syncrowave 250DX
    Millermatic 350P with XR AlumaPro
    Miller Regency 200 with 22A feeder and Spoolmatic 3
    Hobart Champion Elite
    Everlast PowerTig 210EXT

  22. Likes Jonath108 liked this post
  23. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cave Creek AZ
    Posts
    3,256
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    Go feel it before you buy. I bought a hundred feet of 1/0 to extend my leads for a job. This was during the copper crisis ten years ago or so. I paid a premium for it because only Praxair had it in stock. It is the stiffest welding cable I have ever had. It never gets used unless I need the extra feet.

  24. Likes Jonath108 liked this post
  25. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Hellinois
    Posts
    5,805
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    Go to www.electronbeamtechnology.com

    I buy all my lead from them. Excellent quality, great prices.
    "Where's Stick man????????" - 7A749
    "SHHHHHH!! I sent him over to snag that MIC-4 while tbone wasn't looking!" - duaneb55
    "I have bought a few of Tbone's things unlike Stick-Man who helps himself" - TozziWelding
    "Stick-man"

  26. Likes Jonath108 liked this post
  27. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    Quote Originally Posted by walker View Post
    Go feel it before you buy. I bought a hundred feet of 1/0 to extend my leads for a job. This was during the copper crisis ten years ago or so. I paid a premium for it because only Praxair had it in stock. It is the stiffest welding cable I have ever had. It never gets used unless I need the extra feet.
    Good advice, thanks.

  28. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    Thank you

  29. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Stick-man View Post
    Go to www.electronbeamtechnology.com

    I buy all my lead from them. Excellent quality, great prices.
    Does anyone know the exact tweeco adapter for a older Dialarc hf with 1/2 studs at the terminals. I would like quick connects on both leads where they connect to the welder.
    Thanks in advance
    J

  30. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Hellinois
    Posts
    5,805
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jonath108 View Post
    Does anyone know the exact tweeco adapter for a older Dialarc hf with 1/2 studs at the terminals. I would like quick connects on both leads where they connect to the welder.
    Thanks in advance
    J
    If you want quick connectors, look at the following. These are compatible with the popular 2-MPC Tweco connectors. I prefer Lenco brand for price and quality.

    https://profax-lenco.com/wp-content/...Profax2021.pdf

    Page 15, are the connectors for the machine. CT-40FA (angled) CT-40FS (straight)

    Page 13, are the connectors for your cables. LC-40 Pick male and female as needed

    I shop at weldingsupply.com, because they are the best price and a local store to me. If you're stuck on Tweco brand, let me know and I will try to provide numbers. I'm just more familiar with Lenco because I buy/own a lot of it
    Last edited by Stick-man; 05-01-2021 at 09:37 PM.
    "Where's Stick man????????" - 7A749
    "SHHHHHH!! I sent him over to snag that MIC-4 while tbone wasn't looking!" - duaneb55
    "I have bought a few of Tbone's things unlike Stick-Man who helps himself" - TozziWelding
    "Stick-man"

  31. Likes Jonath108 liked this post
  32. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2,988
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    You can get Chicom knockoff DINSE connectors pretty cheaply on ebay, FWIW. I bought some and they seem to work fine.

  33. Likes Jonath108 liked this post
  34. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Stick-man View Post
    If you want quick connectors, look at the following. These are compatible with the popular 2-MPC Tweco connectors. I prefer Lenco brand for price and quality.

    https://profax-lenco.com/wp-content/...Profax2021.pdf

    Page 15, are the connectors for the machine. CT-40FA (angled) CT-40FS (straight)

    Page 13, are the connectors for your cables. LC-40 Pick male and female as needed

    I shop at weldingsupply.com, because they are the best price and a local store to me. If you're stuck on Tweco brand, let me know and I will try to provide numbers. I'm just more familiar with Lenco because I buy/own a lot of it
    Thank you, Stickman ! Lenco should be fine.

  35. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Draper, UT
    Posts
    435
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    I put a pair of 50' #2 leads (100' total) on my Idealarc 250 with no issues (though I don't go over 1/8" 7018)
    So from the chart above I could have gone to 150' with 60% duty cycle @200A and still use #2
    I bought Southwire Royal Excelene brand from a major wire and cable supplier via their ebay site.
    Really nice flexible stuff.
    Last edited by frieed; 05-02-2021 at 11:57 AM.
    MillerMatic 252, HTP 221 w/cooler, Hypertherm PM45, Lincoln IdealArc 250 AC/DC

    "I'd like to believe as many true things and as few false things as possible"

  36. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jonath108 View Post
    Thank you, Stickman ! Lenco should be fine.
    The connectors for the machine as well as for the leads call for 1/0 as a minimum wire size.
    I was told that #1 awg was fine for 300 or 310 ( max on dial arc ) for a total of 50’ leads.
    The connectors that have #1 as a minimum size only go up to 250 amps.
    I like to have the ability to max out my amps at 310 if needed, therefore I will need the connectors good for 350.
    There are no connectors I see that are good to 300 amps.
    Thanks

  37. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    central Wis.
    Posts
    5,658
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Can I use #1 AWG welding cable for Dialarc HF ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jonath108 View Post
    The connectors for the machine as well as for the leads call for 1/0 as a minimum wire size.
    I was told that #1 awg was fine for 300 or 310 ( max on dial arc ) for a total of 50’ leads.
    The connectors that have #1 as a minimum size only go up to 250 amps.
    I like to have the ability to max out my amps at 310 if needed, therefore I will need the connectors good for 350.
    There are no connectors I see that are good to 300 amps.
    Thanks
    I didn't know they were rated that low. I've seen and used lc-40 connectors at around 400 amps with no issues.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,628,089,423.32546 seconds with 13 queries